Another case of coronavirus confirmed in Borders, taking total to 284

One more case of coronavirus has been confirmed in the Borders today, May 3, taking the total for the region to 284.

By Darin Hutson
Sunday, 3rd May 2020, 6:20 pm
Updated Wednesday, 6th May 2020, 7:16 pm
Scottish Government health secretary Jeane Freeman giving a Covid-19 update in Edinburgh today.
Scottish Government health secretary Jeane Freeman giving a Covid-19 update in Edinburgh today.

They’re among 12,097 cases of the illness diagnosed nationwide, up from 11,927 yesterday.

Across the UK, 182,260 people have tested positive for coronavirus, up 4,806 on the day before.

It’s well over a month now since the first two cases of the disease were confirmed in the Borders on Wednesday, March 11, and over two months since Scotland’s first case, in Tayside, was announced on Sunday, March 1, after spreading across the world from Wuhan in China.

That figure rose to three on Friday, March 13; five on Saturday, March 14; seven on Sunday, March 15; eight the following Thursday, March 19; nine on Friday, March 20; 10 on Saturday, March 21; 11 on Sunday, March 22; 12 on Monday, March 23; 15 on Wednesday, March 25; 23 on Thursday, March 26; 28 on Friday, March 27; 35 on Saturday, March 28; 50 on Sunday, March 29; 63 on Monday, March 30; 77 on Tuesday, March 31; 87 on Wednesday, April 1; 93 on Thursday, April 2; 100 on Friday, April 3; 110 on Saturday, April 4; 130 on Sunday, April 5; 139 last Monday, April 6; 149 on Tuesday, April 7; 160 on Wednesday, April 8; 167 on Thursday, April 9; 177 on Friday, April 10; 189 on Saturday, April 11; 199 on Sunday, April 12; 204 on Monday, April 13; 208 on Tuesday, April 14; 215 on Wednesday, April 15; 220 on Thursday, April 16; 229 on Friday, April 17; 231 on Saturday, April 18; 237 on Sunday, April 19; 239 on Monday, April 20; 240 on Tuesday, April 21; 243 on Wednesday, April 22; 248 on Thursday, April 23; 253 last Friday, April 24; 258 on Saturday; 259 on Sunday; 269 on Monday; 272 on Tuesday; 279 on Wednesday; 281 on Friday; 283 yesterday; and 284 today.

As of Friday, the latest figure available from NHS Borders, there’d been no increase overnight in the number of deaths claimed by the disease in the region, and it remained at 31.

It’s now been a month since the first five fatalities here attributable to the virus, also known as Covid-19 were announced on Monday, March 30.

That figure rose to seven the day after, March 31; eight on Wednesday, April 1; 11 on Thursday, April 2; 14 on Friday, April 3; 16 on Sunday, April 5; 17 on Monday, April 6; 19 on Tuesday, April 7; 20 on Friday, April 10; 22 on Saturday, April 11; 23 on Sunday, April 12; 26 on Monday, April 13; 27 last Thursday, April 23; 28 last Friday; 29 on Monday; 30 on Wednesday; and 31 on Thursday.

They are among 1,571 coronavirus patients killed by the disease in Scotland so far, up 12 from 1,559 overnight, and 28,131 UK-wide, a rise of 621 on the day before.

The number of cases of Covid-19 in the Borders remains higher than in one of its neighbouring health board areas, Dumfries and Galloway’s total being 250, but is still well below the two others, Lanarkshire and Lothian being up to 1,454 and 2,089 respectively.

Altogether, 99 Scots are in intensive care receiving treatment for coronavirus, with 91 having tested positive and the others awaiting results.

Some 60,295 tests for the illness have been carried out in Scotland so far, with 48,198 returning negative results.

Giving an update today, Scottish Government health secretary Jeane Freeman said: “As at 9 o’clock this morning, there have been 12,097 positive cases confirmed, an increase of 170 from yesterday.

“A total of 1,666 patients are in hospital with Covid-19, and that is a decrease of eight from yesterday.

“A total of 99 people last night were in intensive care with confirmed or suspected Covid 19, a decrease of nine since the numbers reported yesterday.

“It’s worth noting that this is first time that number has been below 100 since March 29. That is obviously very encouraging news.

“It does show that the restrictions are working, but it also underlines why we need to stick with them.”