Voting gets underway for 2016 Celebration of Sport Awards

GB Technologies logo.GB Technologies logo.
GB Technologies logo.
Borderers are being urged to vote for their favourite sporting achievers in the Borders Sport and Leisure Celebration of Sport Awards, sponsored by GB Technologies.

Now in their fourth year the awards have been created to recognise the wealth of sporting talent that exists within the region, from sports personalities to teams, coaches, clubs and events.

An expert judging panel will decide the winners in some of the specialist categories, listed below, but three of the accolades will be decided by a public vote and the shortlist of these nominees was unveiled this week.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

In the running for Sports Personality of the Year is Rolex Grand Slam winning showjumper Scott Brash, World Cup mountain bike medallist Grant Ferguson and Scotland rugby captain Greig Laidlaw.

The contenders for Team of the Year are St Boswells Rugby Club, Gala Harriers Ladies Masters and Jed Thistle Rugby Club.

And battling for public votes in the Inspirational Performance award are Grant Ferguson, Samantha Kinghorn and Greig Laidlaw.

Each week in the run-up to the awards The Southern Reporter will publish a short biography of each of the nominees for public vote beginning this week with the sports Personality of the Year category. This award is being sponsored by GB Technologies and managing director Gordon Brown said: “This year’s Sports Personality nominees are true ambassadors for their sports and showcase what can be achieved when talent is combined with drive and commitment.”

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

To vote just fill out the form on this page and hand it in to any Borders Sport and Leisure Centre or go to the Borders Sport and Leisure Facebook page to vote online.

The winners of all of the categories of the Celebration of Sport Awards will be revealed at a special ceremony at Peebles Hydro on Friday, March 4.