Three Borderers named in Scotland squad for rugby’s 2021 Women’s Six Nations

Three Borderers feature in the Scottish women’s squad for rugby’s 2021 Women’s Six Nations named today, March 25.

Thursday, 25th March 2021, 5:48 pm
Updated Monday, 29th March 2021, 10:38 am
Jedburgh's Chloe Rollie playing for Harlequins Women against Durham Sharks at Twickenham Stoop in London last October (Photo by Steve Bardens/Getty Images for Harlequins)

Chloe Rollie, Lisa Thomson and Lana Skeldon are among the 31-strong squad announced by head coach Bryan Easson for the forthcoming 2021 Women’s Six Nations.

It’s a squad little changed since the Scots’ last game, a 13-all draw with France in October, 17 of those in it having played in that match, but there are four new faces.

They are Shona Campbell, Coreen Grant, Evie Gallagher and Evie Wills, all uncapped thus far but hoping to make their international debuts at next month’s tournament.

Elizabeth Musgrove and Jenny Maxwell both make comebacks after lengthy spells out injured.

Rachel Malcolm continues as captain, with Helen Nelson as vice-captain.

Easson said: “We are very much looking forward to the return of test rugby, and I’m really pleased for the players that they will be back on the pitch after a turbulent few months.

“I’ve been really encouraged by the squad’s attitude and focus in our recent training weekends, and the upcoming tournament provides a great opportunity to showcase all of our hard work.”

Jedburgh’s Rollie and Hawick’s Thomson have also been picked for the Great Britain rugby sevens squad for this summer’s Olympics in Japan.

Former Jedburgh Grammar School pupil Rollie, 25, has been capped 37 times, and ex-Hawick High School students Thomson, 23, and Skeldon, 27, have played for their country 32 and 40 times respectively.

The squad will compete in a condensed format this year, comprising two pools of three teams each playing one home and one away fixture leading up to a finals day on Saturday, April 24.

Scotland join England and Italy in pool A, with France, Ireland and Wales forming pool B.

The Scots begin their Six Nations campaign with a trip to Doncaster in South Yorkshire to face reigning champions England on Saturday, April 3, with kick-off at 3pm.

They then play Italy at Glasgow’s Scotstoun Stadium on Saturday, April 17, kicking off at 5pm.

Come finals day, Scotland will host the pool-B side finishing in the same position as them at 5pm.

Also in the squad are forwards Leah Bartlett, Christine Belisle, Siobhan Cattigan, Lisa Cockburn, Katie Dougan, Megan Kennedy, Rachel McLachlan, Panashe Muzambe, Jodie Rettie, Emma Wassell and Molly Wright.

They’re accompanied by backs Abi Evans, Megan Gaffney, Sarah Law, Rhona Lloyd, Mairi McDonald, Liz Musgrove, Rachel Shankland, Hannah Smith and Evie Tonkin.