Hogg earns Euro player of year nomination

Former Hawick ace Stuart Hogg is on the shortlist – along with international teammate Finn Russell – for the 2020 EPCR European player of the year award.

Thursday, 8th October 2020, 3:50 pm
Stuart Hogg (archive image by Craig Watson)

Full back Hogg, of Exeter Chiefs, has over 60 caps for Scotland and captained the side duing this season’s Covid-curtailed Six Nations championship, which is set to conclude against Wales at the end of this month.

Hogg, 28, and Racing 92 stand-off Russell have been nominated along with Semi Radradra (Bristol Bears/Bordeaux-Bègles), Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs) and Virimi Vakatawa (Racing 92) for the prestigious prize.

An initial list of 15 names was pared down to this final five, based on the combined verdict of an EPCR appointed selection panel and a public vote.

Sign up to our daily The Southern Reporter Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Voting has now reopened on epcrugby.com/epoty and the winner of the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final between Racing 92 and Exeter Chiefs in Bristol on October 17.

The judging panel includes Bryan Habana (Channel 4), Emmanuel Massicard (Midi Olympique), Sonja McLaughlan (BBC Radio 5 Live) and Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), among others.