Promoted Gala save worst till last

Rory Hawes of Gala CCRory Hawes of Gala CC
Rory Hawes of Gala CC
Gala's cricketers produced their worst performamce of the season at the weekend '“ but somehow still clinched promotion on a dramatic final day of the season.

They were bowled out for just 36 to lose by five wickets at Murrayfield DAFS and seemingly extinguish their chances of going up to the East Championship.

But Musselburgh’s one-wicket loss to Linlithgow meant it was the Braw Lads who earn promotion from Division One.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Only Rory Hawes made double figures for Gala in their lowest total for years, with Murrayfield’s Sam Fergusson taking 3 for 11.

Gala reduced their hosts to 9 for 3 as Dinesh Tharanga (2 for 5) pegged back Murrayfield.

But the Edinburgh team overtook their visitors total in the 13th over.

It means Gala will play in the Championship for the first time ever – but the club will have to improve significantly on their Murrayfield performance if they are not to return to Division One after one season.


R. Hawes lbw b N. Anjum 10

F. Rutherford ct S. Rangaswamy b S. Fergusson 3

K. Gallagher ct A. Venkatesh b N. Anjum 2

D. Millar b S. Fergusson 3

J. Halls b S. Fergusson 4

D. Tharanga ct A. Venkatesh b M. Fergusson 2

K. Paterson ct & b A. Venkatesh 2

R. Pringle ct & b A. Venkatesh 0

D. Moir ct S. Rangaswamy b M. Fergusson 0

J. Crooks not out 0

C. Ormiston b M. Fergusson 0

Extras – 10

Total – 36 for ten wickets

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

S. Fergusson 10-4-11-3; N. Anjum 10-3-14-2; A. Venkatesh 4-3-2-2; M. Fergusson 3-3-0-3.

Murrayfield DAFS

H. Perera ct F. Rutherford b D. Tharanga 4

D. Anderson b D. Tharanga 1

F. Ross b R. Pringle 0

A. Duranni ct J. Halls D. Moir 14

L. Hayes lbw b J. Halls 7

S. Rangaswamy not out 4

S. Fergusson not out 6

Extras – 3

Total – 39 for five wickets

D. Tharanga 6-3-5-2; J. Halls 2-0-5-1; R. Pringle 3-1-6-1; R. Hawes 1.5-0-19-0; D. Moir 1-0-3-1.

The Gala/Hawick Development squad also rounded off their debut season with a four-wicket loss to Watsonians 4ths at Buccleuch Park.

The development side made 114 for 9 from their 40 overs, which Watsonians passed in the 24th over thanks to an unbeaten knock of 42 by Fontana.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Batting first, the Development side were in trouble as Max Hastings and Jake Pringle fell cheapily.

Debutant Matt Reid (9) did well but it was the father and son partnership of Andrew (45) and Harris (24) Rutherford who took Gala/Hawick to a competitive total.

Watsonians looked to be cruising to victory as Dickinson (38) and Fontana took the score to 74 for 1.

But a late collapse gave Gala/Hawick a small chance, although Fontana led his side to victory.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Dean Anderson (2 for 31), Jake Pringle (2 for 6) and Fergus Hastings (2 for 22) took the wickets for the Development side.

In their first season, the team thanked Norman Dobbie for driving the minibus to away games, Hunter’s Bakers for providing the teas for each home match, Bannerman Burke for its sponsorship, and all supporters who have backed the side this summer.


M. Hastings ct J. Fonana b E. Robertson 4

M. Reid ct A. Dickinson b G. Carr 9

J. Pringle ct P. Halliday b E. Robertson 1

D. Anderson ct C. Robertson b J. Higgs 8

H. Rutherford ct P. Halliday b M. MacLean 24

A. Hastings ct J. Fonana b G. Carr 4

A. Rutherford ct G. Carr b A. Dickinson 45

M. Brogan run out (A. Patwari) 4

G. Reid not out 2

F. Hastings ct J. Fonana b A. Dickinson 0

N. Dobbie not out 2

Extras – 11

Total – 114 for nine wickets

A. Timmins 7-3-9-0; C. Robertson 8-0-23-2; G. Higgs 6-0-22-1; G. Carr 4-0-6-2; M. MacLean 8-0-17-1; A. Patwari 6-1-18-0; A. Dickinson 2-1-2-2.

Watsonians 4s

A. Dickinson ct D. Anderson b F. Hastings 38

A. Borthwick lbw D. Anderson 6

J. Fontana not out 42

P. Halliday b F. Hastings 8

G. Carr ct M. Hastings b D. Anderson 5

E. Robertson ct A. Rutherford b J. Pringle 4

A. Patwari ct A. Rutherford b J. Pringle 4

M. MacLean not out 0

Extras – 8

Total – 115 for 6 wickets

A. Hastings 6-0-20-0; D. Anderson 8-1-31-2; H. Rutherford 4-0-12-0; M. Brogan 2-0-26-0; F. Hastings 3-0-22-2; J. Pringle 1.1-0-6-2.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Meanwhile, Gala made the final of the Under 14 Cup with an eight-wicket win against Kelso.

The visitors batted first but superb performances from Fraser Wilson, who took two wickets without conceding a run from three overs, and Fergus Hastings (3 for 9) ensured Kelso only made 49 for 9.

Top scorer for Kelso was Harry Stephens with 14.

Gala got off to a slow but steady start until Jack Gammie was bowled for 10.

Jake Pringle followed soon after, with Gala still needing 23 to win.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

But Harris Rutherford (7 not out ) joined Jamie Crooks (13 not out) to get Gala over the line in the 15th over.

Freddie Huddlestone (1 for 5) and Murray Mason (1 for 10) impressed for Kelso.

Gala now face Hawick in the final on a date still to be confirmed.


F. Huddleston b F. Wilson 4

H. Stephens b R. Paterson 14

H. Khan run out (J. Gammie) 0

M. Mason b F. Hastings 0

W. Stephens b F. Hastings 0

J. Whelans b F. Hastings 1

B. Rock b M. Rutherford 8

L. McKinley not out 4

D. Nelson b M. Rutherford 0

K. Eden b F. Wilson 0

C. Dickson not out 0

Extras – 18

Total – 49 for nine wickets

M. Wilson 2-0-8-0; F. Wilson 3-3-0-2; H. Rutherford 3-1-2-0; F Hastings 4-1-9-3; R. Paterson 4-0-13-0; R. Wilson 2-0-10-0; M. Rutherford 2-0-3-2.


J. Gammie b M. Mason 10

J. Pringle ct W. Stephens b F. Huddlestone 15

J. Crooks not out 13

H. Rutherford not out 7

Extras – 15

B. Rock 2-0-7-0; M. Mason 4-0-10-1; H. Khan 4-0-7-0; F. Huddleston 2-0-5-1; J. Whelans 1.4-0-10-0; H. Stephens 1-0-9-0.

Related topics: