Armstrong crowned Scottish rally champion

Jock Armstrong in action on this year's Snowman Rally.Jock Armstrong in action on this year's Snowman Rally.
Jock Armstrong in action on this year's Snowman Rally.
Whilst it may not have been the ending thateveryone wanted following the cancellation of the final round of the ARR Craib Scottish Rally Championship, the Colin McRae Forest Stages, but new Scottish Rally Champions have been crowned.

After coming close in recent years, Castle Douglas driver Jock Armstrong and Withnell navigator Paula Swinscoe have secured a well deserved title with four consecutive second place finishes following their season opening victory on the Snowman rally and only one retirement – truly championship winning form - in their Subaru Impreza.

Behind Armstrong, Mike Faulkner once again came so close to securing the Scottish Championship title which he craves. The Kirtlebridge driver, along with Peter Foy from Bingley, also took an event victory, claiming the top step of the podium on the Jim Clark Reivers event, which was run on gravel for the first time in 20 years in May.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

In addition to second place, Faulkner and Foy have the consolation of taking the award for top Mitsubishi.

Completing the championship podium are the Banchory crew of Bruce McComble and Michael Coutts, who had led the series from the Border Counties Rally in March and it was only when the dropped scores ruling was taken into account (competitors must drop their worst score of the season) that they were knocked off the top step.

The awards will be presented at the Gala Awards Dinner to be held on Saturday, November 28.

Related topics: