Young Scots whae hae

Galashiels Academy played host to the annual Eildon West Primary Schools Celebration of Scots Language and Culture, held on Friday, March 3

Monday, 20th March 2017, 9:42 am
Updated Friday, 24th March 2017, 10:03 am
The pupils who took part in the annual Eildon West Primary Schools Celebration of Scots Language and Culture at Galashiels Academy.

All primary schools, from Tweedbank to Heriot, were represented.

Medals, presented by Alistair Christie, vice-president of the Galashiels Burns Club, were awarded for Scots writing and recitation of Scots poetry.

Scots writing medal winners: P1-3 – gold, Darcie Liddle, Clovenfords; silver, Annabel Henry, Fountainhall; bronze, Lia Russell, Tweedbank. P4-5 – gold, Kady McGlasson, Tweedbank; silver, Tom Firth, Fountainhall; bronze, Ethan Deane, Clovenfords. P6-7 – gold, Robyn Thin, St Peter’s; silver, Iona Boyd, Heriot; bronze, Kirstein Woodburn, Clovenfords.

Sign up to our daily The Southern Reporter Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Recitation medal winners: P1-3 – gold, Maisie McGlasson, Clovenfords; silver, Lana Wilson, Langlee; bronze, Caleb Hibbard, Fountainhall. P4-5 – gold, Gregor Paton, St Peter’s; silver, Oisin Beard, Clovenfords; bronze, Laughlan Saunders, Langlee. P6-7 – gold, Kirsten Woodburn, Clovenfords; silver, Aidan Hodgson, Stow; bronze, Stanley Littlejohn, Fountainhall.

Clovenfords Primary School won the Irene Hogg Trophy for receiving the most points across the competition.