Lamont retains seat

Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire will be represented by Tory candidate John Lamont in the Scottish Parliament for the next five years.

Friday, 6th May 2016, 7:01 am
Updated Friday, 6th May 2016, 10:12 am
John Lamont (Scottish Conservative) .

Just before 7am this morning returning officer Tracey Logan declared Mr Lamont the elected member for Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire following a night of vote counting in Springwood Hall, Kelso.

The results for the constituency are: John Lamont - 18,257; Paul Wheelhouse - 10,521; Jim Hume - 2,551; Barrie Cunning - 1,766.

Mr Lamont increased his majority from five years ago by 10.3% to 55.2% of the vote.

He has represented the constituency at Holyrood for the past five years and prior to that was MSP for Roxburgh and Berwickshire between 2007-11.

“I am absolutely delighted to have gained the support of so many voters in the Scottish Borders and I’d like to thank each and every person who has placed their trust in me,” said Mr Lamont.

“The result today means I can continue to put the Borders ahead of party politics.”