Three more coronavirus cases confirmed in Borders, taking total to 313

Another three cases of coronavirus have been confirmed in the Borders today, May 17, taking the total for the region to 313.

By Darin Hutson
Sunday, 17th May 2020, 6:14 pm
Updated Monday, 18th May 2020, 1:51 pm
Health secretary Jeane Freeman giving a Covid-19 update today.
Health secretary Jeane Freeman giving a Covid-19 update today.

They are among 14,537 nationwide, up from 14,447 yesterday.

Across the UK, 243,303 people have tested positive for the disease, up 3,142 on the day before.

It’s over two months since the first two cases of Covid-19, as the illness is also known, were confirmed in the Borders on Wednesday, March 11, and two and a half months since Scotland’s first case, in Tayside, was announced on Sunday, March 1, after spreading across the world from Wuhan in China.

That figure rose to three on Friday, March 13; five on Saturday, March 14; seven on Sunday, March 15; eight the following Thursday, March 19; nine on Friday, March 20; 10 on Saturday, March 21; 11 on Sunday, March 22; 12 on Monday, March 23; 15 on Wednesday, March 25; 23 on Thursday, March 26; 28 on Friday, March 27; 35 on Saturday, March 28; 50 on Sunday, March 29; 63 on Monday, March 30; 77 on Tuesday, March 31; 87 on Wednesday, April 1; 93 on Thursday, April 2; 100 on Friday, April 3; 110 on Saturday, April 4; 130 on Sunday, April 5; 139 on Monday, April 6; 149 on Tuesday, April 7; 160 on Wednesday, April 8; 167 on Thursday, April 9; 177 on Friday, April 10; 189 on Saturday, April 11; 199 on Sunday, April 12; 204 on Monday, April 13; 208 on Tuesday, April 14; 215 on Wednesday, April 15; 220 on Thursday, April 16; 229 on Friday, April 17; 231 on Saturday, April 18; 237 on Sunday, April 19; 239 on Monday, April 20; 240 on Tuesday, April 21; 243 on Wednesday, April 22; 248 on Thursday, April 23; 253 on Friday, April 24; 258 on Saturday, April 25; 259 on Sunday, April 26; 269 on Monday, April 27; 272 on Tuesday, April 28; 279 on Wednesday, April 29; 281 on Friday, May 1; 283 on Saturday, May 2; 284 on Sunday, May 3; 285 on Wednesday, May 6; 286 on Thursday, May 7; 292 on Monday, May 11; 294 on Tuesday, May 12; 297 on Wednesday, May 13; 298 on Thursday, May 14; 304 on Friday; 310 yesterday; and 313 today.

The number of cases of Covid-19 in the Borders remains higher than in one of its neighbouring health board areas, Dumfries and Galloway’s total being 257, but is still well below the two others, Lanarkshire and Lothian being up to 1,828 and 2,561 respectively.

The death toll claimed by coronavirus in the Borders stands at 32, as of Tuesday, with a further update being due next Tuesday.

Figures issued by the National Records of Scotland, taking into account all deaths attributed to coronavirus and not just among those previously tested and found to be infected, put the death toll for the region at 48 as of last Sunday, however.

It’s now been a month and a half since the first five fatalities among Covid-19 patients were announced on Monday, March 30.

That figure, going by Scottish Government calculations, rose to seven the day after, March 31; eight on Wednesday, April 1; 11 on Thursday, April 2; 14 on Friday, April 3; 16 on Sunday, April 5; 17 on Monday, April 6; 19 on Tuesday, April 7; 20 on Friday, April 10; 22 on Saturday, April 11; 23 on Sunday, April 12; 26 on Monday, April 13; 27 on Thursday, April 23; 28 on Friday, April 24; 29 on Monday, April 27; 30 on Wednesday, April 29; 31 on Thursday, April 30; and 32 on Tuesday.

They are among 2,103 coronavirus patients killed by the disease in Scotland so far, up from 2,094 overnight, and 34,636 UK-wide, a rise of 170 on the day before.

Altogether, 59 Scots are in intensive care receiving treatment for coronavirus, with 46 having tested positive and the others awaiting results.

Hospitals in the region are currently treating 25 patients confirmed to have Covid-19.

Some 87,660 tests for the illness have been carried out in Scotland so far, with 73,123 proving negative.

Giving an update in Edinburgh today on the outbreak, Scottish Government health secretary Jeane Freeman said: “There have been 14,537 positive cases confirmed, an increase of 90 from yesterday.

“A total of 1,308 patients are in hospital with the virus, 1,007 who have been confirmed as having Covid and 301 who are suspected of having Covid. That represents a total decline of 108 from yesterday, including a decrease of four in the number of confirmed cases.

“A total of 59 people last night were in intensive care with confirmed or suspected Covid-19. That is the same number as reported yesterday.

“In the last 24 hours, nine deaths have been registered of patients who have been confirmed through a test as having Covid-19. That takes the total number of deaths in Scotland, under that measurement, to 2,103.

“As always, I want to stress that these numbers are much more than statistics. They represent individuals whose loss is a source of grief to many. I want to send my deepest condolences to everyone who has lost a loved one to this virus.”