No rise in coronavirus deaths in Borders over last week and no increase in cases for fifth day in row

No further cases of coronavirus have been reported in the Borders today, June 9, with the total for the region remaining at 326 for the fifth day in a row.

Nicola Sturgeon at today's Scottish Government Covid-19 outbreak update in Edinburgh.
Nicola Sturgeon at today's Scottish Government Covid-19 outbreak update in Edinburgh.

That standstill statistic, accompanied by no fatalities attributable to the disease being reported for the last week, comes after the most recent rise in cases confirmed in the region – an increase of one last Friday, June 5 – ended a week-long run with no new diagnoses.

That was the longest to have gone by without any new cases since the first diagnoses here were confirmed on Wednesday, March 11.

The 326 cases of Covid-19, as the disease is also known, confirmed here are among 15,653 nationwide, up 14 overnight.

Across the UK, 287,399 people have tested positive for the disease, up 1,205 on the day before.

It’s now over three months since Scotland’s first case, in Tayside, was announced on Sunday, March 1, after spreading across the world from Wuhan in China.

Following March 11’s initial diagnoses, the number of cases in the Borders rose to three on Friday, March 13; five on Saturday, March 14; seven on Sunday, March 15; eight the following Thursday, March 19; nine on Friday, March 20; 10 on Saturday, March 21; 11 on Sunday, March 22; 12 on Monday, March 23; 15 on Wednesday, March 25; 23 on Thursday, March 26; 28 on Friday, March 27; 35 on Saturday, March 28; 50 on Sunday, March 29; 63 on Monday, March 30; 77 on Tuesday, March 31; 87 on Wednesday, April 1; 93 on Thursday, April 2; 100 on Friday, April 3; 110 on Saturday, April 4; 130 on Sunday, April 5; 139 on Monday, April 6; 149 on Tuesday, April 7; 160 on Wednesday, April 8; 167 on Thursday, April 9; 177 on Friday, April 10; 189 on Saturday, April 11; 199 on Sunday, April 12; 204 on Monday, April 13; 208 on Tuesday, April 14; 215 on Wednesday, April 15; 220 on Thursday, April 16; 229 on Friday, April 17; 231 on Saturday, April 18; 237 on Sunday, April 19; 239 on Monday, April 20; 240 on Tuesday, April 21; 243 on Wednesday, April 22; 248 on Thursday, April 23; 253 on Friday, April 24; 258 on Saturday, April 25; 259 on Sunday, April 26; 269 on Monday, April 27; 272 on Tuesday, April 28; 279 on Wednesday, April 29; 281 on Friday, May 1; 283 on Saturday, May 2; 284 on Sunday, May 3; 285 on Wednesday, May 6; 286 on Thursday, May 7; 292 on Monday, May 11; 294 on Tuesday, May 12; 297 on Wednesday, May 13; 298 on Thursday, May 14; 304 on Friday, May 15; 310 on Saturday, May 16; 313 on Sunday, May 17; 316 on Monday, May 18; 317 on Tuesday, May 19; 322 on Wednesday, May 20; 323 on Tuesday, May 26; 325 last Friday, May 29; and 326 on Friday, June 5.

The number of cases of Covid-19 in the Borders remains higher than in one of its neighbouring health board areas, Dumfries and Galloway’s total being 261, but is still well below the two others, Lanarkshire and Lothian being up to 2,018 and 2,777 respectively.

The death toll claimed in the region by coronavirus has not risen since last week, remaining at 38.

Figures issued by the National Records of Scotland last Wednesday, taking into account all fatalities attributed to coronavirus and not just among those previously tested and found to be infected, put the death toll for the region at 62 as of a week ago on Sunday, however – 27 higher than the Scottish Government figure of 35 at that time.

It’s now over two months since the first five fatalities among Covid-19 patients here were announced on Monday, March 30.

That figure, going by Scottish Government calculations, rose to seven the day after, March 31; eight on Wednesday, April 1; 11 on Thursday, April 2; 14 on Friday, April 3; 16 on Sunday, April 5; 17 on Monday, April 6; 19 on Tuesday, April 7; 20 on Friday, April 10; 22 on Saturday, April 11; 23 on Sunday, April 12; 26 on Monday, April 13; 27 on Thursday, April 23; 28 on Friday, April 24; 29 on Monday, April 27; 30 on Wednesday, April 29; 31 on Thursday, April 30; 32 on Tuesday, May 12; 34 on Tuesday, May 19; 35 on Tuesday, May 26; and 38 on Tuesday, June 2.

They are among 2,422 coronavirus patients killed by the disease in Scotland so far, up seven overnight, and 40,597 UK-wide, a rise of 55 on the day before.

Altogether, 15 Scots, none of them in the Borders, are in intensive care receiving treatment for coronavirus, along with another six suspected to be infected but awaiting test results.

No patients confirmed to have Covid-19 are being treated at any of the Borders’ hospitals, but 18 suspected to be sufferers and currently awaiting test results are being looked after.

Just short of 128, 500 tests for the illness have been carried out in Scotland so far, with 112,842 coming back negative.

At today’s daily Scottish Government Covid-19 briefing, first minister Nicola Sturgeon reported: “There have been 15,653 positive cases confirmed, an increase of 14 since yesterday.

“A total of 1,011 patients are in hospital with confirmed or suspected Covid-19. That represents a total decrease of 31 from yesterday, including a decrease of 14 in the number of confirmed currently cases in hospital.

“A total of 21 people last night were in intensive care with confirmed or suspected Covid 19. That is a decrease of three since yesterday.

“Since March 5, a total of 3,820 patients who had tested positive for the virus have been able to leave hospital. I wish all of them well.

“In the last 24 hours, seven deaths were registered of patients confirmed as having Covid-19. The total number of deaths in Scotland, under that measurement, is therefore 2,422.

“After two days of reporting zero deaths, today’s figure of seven is, of course, not what we would want to hear.

“However, it is important to stress that it is not a surprise either. We know there is a weekend lag in registration of deaths and so the numbers we report on Tuesdays are usually higher than those on Sundays and Mondays. Last Tuesday, for example, we reported 12 registered deaths.

“Today’s figure, though an increase on the last two days, is nevertheless a further indication of a clear downward trend in the number of people losing their lives to this virus, and that, of course, is clearly welcome.

“We know, however, that this will be no consolation whatsoever to people who are grieving these lost lives.

“The figures I have just read out are not simply statistics. They represent individuals who are being mourned and grieved by many, so, once again, I want to convey my deepest condolences to everyone who has lost a loved one to this illness.”