Sporting digest


Zingari shoot

The BLBS Zingari shoot saw Elaine Pearson take home the only medal for most golds, shooting 67, 305, 7, 1.

Other Ettrick Forest scores were: Junior – 1, K. Fairbairn 33, 117, 0, 0. Gents – 6, D. Anderson 71, 311, 5, 0; 10, M. Pearson 60, 244, 6, 1.

Club Windsor round results (Sunday): 1, R. Tice 98, 504, 16, 0; 2, A. Anderson 98, 464, 10, 0; 3, M. Pearson 84, 408, 6, 0.


Team Borders

After their very successful inaugural season in 2012 in the JSB Forth Valley League, when they won Division 2, Team Borders made their Division 1 debut at Grangemouth Stadium and finished fourth overall out of nine competing clubs.

First places included: Freddie Rooke (Gala), U15 boys A 100m; Ryan Houten (Moorfoot), U15 boys B 100m; Katie Browne (Gala), U15 girls B 100m; Rory Williams (Gala), U13 boys B 800m.

With a shortage of U11 boys, any Borders schools or coaches who have athletes who could be considered should contact Neil Renton on 01896 756274.

Scotland call up

Moorfoot’s Scout Adkin has been called up to the Scottish Hill Running squad for this year. This Saturday the 19-year-old is running a Scotland trial for the Senior Home International which follows two weeks later in the Lake District.



Border Andrew Hamilton Trophy team away to West Lothian on Saturday: R. Thorburn, M. Christy, D. Miller Jnr, A. White (rink 1); M. Fairley, D. Wilson, N. McNally, R. Crawford (rink 2); C. Donaldson, S. Omari, R. Nicol, R. Kerr (rink 3); A. Borthwick, C. Martin, K. Johnstone, G. Forsyth (rink 4); D. Pearce, D. Miller Snr, E. Lindores, S. Bebbington (rink 5); R. Nicholson, T. Mann, A. Brady, I. Crawford (rink 6).

Border U25s team versus Midlothian at Abbotsford BC on Sunday: R. Munro, S. Morrison, C. Ainslie, A. Hancock (rink 1): A. Kerr, A. Burn, J. Taylor, R. Taylor (rink 2); M. Smyth, E. Munro, J. Condy, J. Mitchell (rink 3); S. Spalding, D. Riddell, R. Neil, C. Donaldson (rink 4); R. Mark, C. Riddell, R. Brady, M. Fairley (rink 5).

Full fixtures on all Borders games are available at the new website:

Clubs are reminded that their nomination for the Top 10 competition should be in by June 1 and for the Border prelims and qualifiers by July 12.


Playing the final game of the 2012 Senior Triples season – held over due to poor weather – Gala comfortably defeated Kelso and, coupled with Wilton’s loss to Earlston/Melrose, meant the title was secured by the Scott Crescent club.

The B team started their league campaign for the season against Waverley B, but lost by 33 shots.

On Sunday, 24 teams took part in the Ladies Pairs. In the final, last year’s runners-up Pauline Anderson and Gail Lindores lost out again to Matty Smith and Pat Houston.

Gents Border League

Week one results, Division 1: Kelso 69 Wilton 80; Melrose 85 Abbotsford 68; Ancrum 69 Waverley 76; Ettrick Forest 79 Earlston 80; Selkirk 64 Jedburgh 76. Division 3: Abbotsford B 55 Wilton B 68; Hawick B 62 Kelso B 56.


The Wallace Express Open Pairs final was contested by G. Scott and L. Clarkson from Hawick and mother and son Langholm pairing, Carol and Paul Warwick.

A dramatic finale saw Scott produce an unbelievable shot to take out the Langholm shot bowl, and lie six shots, to claim a well earned victory.


McRobert Cup winners: M. Jaffray, B. Crombie, M. Todd.

Members are reminded that all club competitions now have prize money, so it is well worth taking part. The next event is the Mixed Pairs contest on May 19.


Border Province AGM

David Kerr relinquished his presidential responsibilities, and transferred the badge of office to Bill Byers, without any bloodletting, and Neil Maclain was duly badged as vice president.

George Whiteford, Ian McCreath and Jim Blain were wheedled onto the committee but there is still a vacancy for a fourth member.

Draw for Agrii Border League, section one – Coldstream, Duns, Earlston, Glendale, Jedburgh, Lauderdale, Lees, St Boswells, Swinton and Yester. The unmentioned clubs can take it that they will be in section two. It was also announced that Graham Baxter, son of Murrayfield rink manager Ian, has been nominated as Jim Keddie’s successor as icemaster.

Ladies’ AGM appointments: Wendy Henderson (president); Nina Clancy (vice president); Glynnice Lauder (secretary); Lucy Tile (treasury).



Twenty-five-mile TT result: L. Parry 1.00.59.

Memorial 25-mile TT Open – entry details can be found on


Newmill 10-mile course, result: 1, K. Darling 23.39.

Gordon Jackson finished a very respectable 12th at the May Day Gallop near Grangemouth.

Kelso Wheelers

Twenty-mile TT result: D. Burgher 46.44.

Monday is a 10 mile TT on the Birgham course – sign in at Woodside Park by 6.30pm.



Spring competition, held at Kelso: Winner – A. Wild 42pts. Silver: 1, P. Robson 36. Bronze: 1, S. Smith 38 bih. Senior prize winner: K Robertson 36.


Wednesday Strokeplay: 1=, S. Nightingale 73 (5) 68, J. Rigg 86 (18) 68, B. Currie 72 (4) 68. Bert Rankin Trophy: 1, D. Cairns 84 (16) 66 bih. Best gross: D. McGlasson 70. Seniors Stableford: 1, D. A. Johnston 20pts.


Thursday’s competition: 1, S. Donaldson 98 (25) 73 bih. Scratch winner: A. Martin 96.


SLGA Medal: 1, A. Wild 91 (25) 66. Margaret Scott Trophy (36 holes): 1, P. Robson 146. Geoff Garratt Trophy: 1, S. Turnbull 74 (7) 67 bih. Outing to Ratho Park: 1, J. Braithwaite 39 points bih. Spar Competition (Rd 2): 1, K. Grieve 39pts.

Ladies Championship Qualifier (1st card): 1, A.Fleming 93.


Ladies Salver No 2 /Championship Qualifier No1: Silver Division, scratch – 1, L. Moore 89; handicap – 1, S. Whiteley 92 (19) 73.

Bronze Division: Scratch – 1, A. Paterson 98; handicap M. Towers 95 (22) 73.

St Boswells

J&J Tait Holmes Cup: 1, G. Melrose. Ladies Macmillan Medal: 1, F. Melrose 83 (18) 65.


Belhaven Qualifier: 1, R. Brydon 70 (2) 68 bih. Tuesday Strokeplay: 1, J. Graham 79 (12) 67.


Gents Monthly Medal: A Class – 1, R. Cowan 82 (10) 72; B Class – 1, S. Brown 91 (19) 72.

Ladies Medal: 1, M. Turnbull 96 (21) 75. Gents Open (sponsored by Halliwells Butchers) is on Sunday – entries taken at reception or call 01750 32711.


National U14 Festival

Borders Hockey sent two mixed teams to Edinburgh to represent the region in the National Under 14 inter district competition.

The more experienced A squad finished third place out of eight teams and went down 2-0 to the Midlands in a playoff for a sixth overall out of 16 teams.

The younger B squad found the going tough but produced some excellent individual performances.

Borders Hockey thanked Pippa Bell (coach), Ashley Robson (coach on the day), Laura McLean (assistant coach and physio) and Zoe Higgins (youth umpire).

Meanwhile, Selkirk’s Emily Newlands, who played for Scotland U21s against India last week despite being only 16, and Kelso’s Claire Hill have both been named in Scotland’s U18 squad for the European Championships.



Members sent 178 birds to the News & Card (newsagent, Lauder) sponsored Thirsk race. Result: 1, K. Heppingstall 1409.54.


Twelve members sent 190 birds to Thirsk. Result: 1, 5, Douglas and Spearman 1237.768.


Six members sent 134 birds to Thirsk. Result: 1, 2, 3, A. Agnew & Son 1368.834.


The club sent 132 birds from Charnock Richards over a distance of 105 miles. Result: 1, 2, 3, 4, R. V. Graham 1504.190.



Results: Division 1 – Fleece 5 Reivers B 4; Reivers A 7 Ship B 2; Ship B 1 High Level A 8. Division 2 – Bridge A 9 Frankies 0; High Level B 2 Bridge B 7; Waverley B 1 Niki’s 8.