Sporting digest


Charity run

Fleet-footed runners in the Borders are invited to take part in a scenic 10km canal race to support Scotland’s deafblind population.

Around 200 runners of all standards are expected to enjoy the Deafblind Scotland 10km race and 5km fun run along the banks of the Forth and Clyde Canal in Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire, on Saturday, April 20.

Entry is £8 to £10. Both runs start at, and finish near to, the Bishopbrigg’s Leisuredome.

To book a place go to the Booking an Event section at, email or call 0141 777 5823.

Pitreavie Gift

Results – 100m Open: 1, Greg Louden (Dalkeith) 6m; 2, Darrin Scott (TLJT) 8.5m; 3, Alan Hamilton (Edinburgh). 10.43 seconds.

200m Open: 1, Richard Eland (Broughton) 39m; 2, Jack Beattie (Rosyth) 32m; 3, Jenna Gillan (TLJT) 42m. 20.97 seconds.

800m Open: 1, Rory Muir (Milnathort) 75m; 2, Adam CraIG (TLJT) 60m; 3, Owen Miller (DTF) 50m. 1 minute 46.91 seconds.

1,600m Open: 1, Owen Miller (DTF) 120m; 2, Scott McAlpine (Pitreavie AC) 185m; 3, Sam Bates (Tullibody) 420m. 4 minutes 06.84 seconds.

90m Vets: 1, Angela Little (Blackwood) 15m; 2, Tommy Finkle (TLJT) 2m; 3, Geoff Keen (Selkirk) 2.5m. 10.49 seconds.

90m Youths: Alexander Young (Larkhall) 19m; 2, Craig Moriarty (Pitreavie AC) 15m; 3, Lauren Shanks (Larkhall) 21m. 9.59 seconds.

200m Youths: 1, Kerrin De Pear (DTF) 55m; 2, Lauren Shanks (Larkhall) 31m; 3, Emily Dagg (TLJT) 31m. 22.18 seconds.

800m Youths: 1, Matt Dougall (TLJT) 145m; 2, David Lees (Larkhall) 175m) 3, Ross Lyttle (Larkhall) 115m. 1 minute 52.57 seconds.

1,200m Youths: 1, Amy Armstrong (Edinburgh) 255m; 2, Connor Morris (Pitreavie AC) 165m; 3, D. O’Hare (Edinburgh) 65m. 3 minutes 06.28 seconds.

See report on page 102.



The club will hold its opening day on Sunday, April 14, while the annual fundraising coffee morning at Hanover House will take place the following week on Saturday, April 20.

Members are asked to support both events.


The club held its agm on Wednesday, March 20, and it was agreed that the opening day will be on Saturday, April 20 .

Whether or not there will be any actual bowling will depend on the successful completion of work on the green currently being hampered by the unusually cold weather for the time of year.

There will be an early start to the league programme especially for the seniors who still have an outstanding game to complete the programme for last season.

Members are asked to consult the noticeboards at the clubhouse indicating their availability for the leagues.

Members are also ­reminded that there is a Wine & Dine on Sunday, March 31, and a good response in support of this event would be appreciated.


With the season nearing completion, action at the stadium concerned the indoor leagues and the final stages of Scottish competitions.

The ladies and gents singles reached the semi-final stages with Ross Nichol beating current champion Kenny Johnstone and Malcolm Thin winning out over Lee Wilson.

In the ladies’, Lauren Upton beat Christine Miller, while Rita Jefferson and Betty Johnstone’s match was a victim of the weather and will be rescheduled.

Both the ladies’ and gents’ singles finals will be played on April 5, together with the junior singles.

On Saturday, the 2 bowl pairs for ladies and gents was played to a finish.

In the gents, Ben McGregor and Kenny Johnstone beat David Miller and Ross Nichol, while Rita Jefferson and Christine Miller had a narrow victory over Ann Forsyth and Marie Todd in the ladies.

Members are reminded that the agm will be held tonight at 7pm. Important amendments to the constitution are proposed and efforts should be made to attend.

Carpet bowling


The Factory Cup came to a conclusion on Friday night, with the Swedes – John Dickson, Billy Gentleman and Bob Wilson – beating the Royal and Ancient Burgh Ex-Standard Bearers Association – Stuart Coltherd, Craig Stanners and James Cheyne – 13-8.



Winter Series Trophy: 1, S. Dawson (Newcastle) 67 ex-80; 2, G. Boertien (Lockerbie) 60; 3, J. Brodie (Denholm) 59; 4, D. Livingston (Edinburgh) 59; 5, J. Carlyle (Lockerbie) 57; 6, N. Rock (Kelso) 52; 7, R. McCowan – wild card (Gretna Green) 48.



The season-opening spectacle that is the Captain versus Presidents match, postponed from last Saturday due to the heavy snow, will be played this Saturday, weather permitting.

All members are asked to keep an eye on the noticeboard for any changes.

St Boswells

A junior warm-up evening will be held at St Boswells Golf Club on Monday, April 1.

Beginners at 4-5pm; Improvers at 5.30pm; Competitions at 5pm. Parents and guardians always welcome.

The subscription for 2013 is £80 – Students; £30 – High School; £15 – Primary School.

Contact Sue Brooks on 01835 823527 for further details.



This year’s Knock Out Cup final will be fought out by early season favourites Ship A and champions elect Reivers A.

The Ship blew away a spirited second division Niki’s team 5-0, while Reivers edged past Dryburgh for the third successive week, taking a 4-0 lead before losing two frames, but recovering to get the vital frame.

In the Bowl, Reivers B, in a nip-and-tuck match, took the last two frames against Waverley A in sensational style to meet Station in the semi. High Level B swept aside Waverley B in a tense local derby to meet Frankie’s, who edged past an unlucky Bridge A, to set up an all Hawick final.

Results – KO Cup semis: Reivers A (Gala) 5 v 2 Dryburgh (Newtown) 2; Ship A (Melrose) 5 Nikis Bar (Gala) 0.

KO Bowl quarters: Waverley B (Hawick) 3 High Level B (Hawick) 5; Reivers B (Gala) 5 Waverley A (Hawick) 4; Frankies (Hawick) 5 Bridge A (Gala) 3. Station (Hawick) received a bye to the semis.

z If you have items for inclusion, contact Fiona Scott, tel 01750 724854, or email by 2pm Monday.