Unbeaten Souters are tried and tested

Hillhead Jordanhill 19

Selkirk 26


SELKIRK had to pull out all the stops to keep their unbeaten National League record alive in a pulsating contest at Hughenden.

It was the hosts who made the more positive start and Selkirk had a couple of early let-offs when Hills fly-half AJ Macfarlane was wide with two penalty attempts.

Somewhat against the run of play, Selkirk took the lead in the 29th minute.

Centre Ross Nixon did well to recycle ball under pressure, and a half-break by Gavin Craig created just enough space for Darren Clapperton to pop up on the opposite wing to score wide on the right. Michael McVie converted.

A missed kick to touch by Selkirk in the 36th minute was immediately punished by the home team.

Geoff Dunne burst over for a try and Macfarlane’s conversion levelled the scores.

Just before half-time, the hosts took the lead when a monster line kick from Will Marshall pinned Selkirk inside their own 22, and moments later Dunne stormed over the line for his team’s second try and a 14-7 interval lead.

Six minutes into the second half, Dunne turned sinner when he was yellow-carded following a ruck infringement. With the wind now in their favour, Selkirk began to apply more pressure and some quick thinking by prop Gordon Patterson helped get Selkirk back on level terms when he drove over for a try following untidy scrum ball, with McVie making the conversion.

The turning point came three minutes later when the ever-alert Angus Duckett took a great catch and crashed over for the visitors’ third try, which was safely converted by McVie.

Back came Hills, and with 10 minutes to go, prop Will Goulden bulldozed his way over for a try after a spell of intense pressure on the visitors’ line. Macfarlane’s conversion attempt drifted left, leaving Selkirk 21-19 ahead.

With the game deep into injury time, Selkirk lock Matt Kissick set the seal on a memorable victory by diving over for his side’s bonus-point try in the left corner.

Selkirk: F. Harkness; L. McLennan, S. Hendrie, R. Nixon, D. Clapperton; G. Craig, M. McVie; C. Lacour, S. Forrest, C. Graur, A. Renwick, M. Kissick, N. Darling, A. Duckett, R. Crockatt. Subs: M. Rutherford, E. MacDougall, P. Forrest, G. Patterson, C. Johnston.