Two fat ladies for Linden to celebrate title win

Hawick Linden celebrate their East League title success
Hawick Linden celebrate their East League title success



RBS East League Division Two

Linden stormed to the championship with a breathtaking display of running rugby at Volunteer Park.

The title had actually been sealed the day before, following Gala YM’s disqualification from the league, meaning that, prior to kick-off, Linden could not be caught at the top of the table.

It was Earlston who took the lead through a converted try, but Hawick responded immediately as Steven Bouglas raced over.

And Linden took a 38-7 lead into the break thanks to further scores from a double by Sean Goodfellow, and a try each from Steven Bouglas, Gary Wardle and Stuart Williams.

Ryan Hamilton, Greg Cunningham, Conor Gracie and Wattie Davies came off the bench for the second half, but there was no let-up from the Royal Blues.

Full back Nathan Murray grabbed four second-half tries to take his total for the season to a club record 23, and other scores came from Sean Fairbairn, Wardle and a further two from Steven Bouglas.

Earlston grabbed two consolation tries in the second period.

The league trophy was presented to captain Barry Sutherland and now Linden head off on a high to Ireland on Friday morning for the Carrickfergus Sevens.

Linden: N. Murray, G. Thomson, S. Bouglas, S. Williams, G. Bouglas, S. Renwick, S. Goodfellow, J. Gilchrist, C. Turnbull, R. Beattie, K. Mabon, S. Fairbairn, B. Willison, G. Wardle, G. Colville. Subs: R. Hamilton, C. Gracie, W. Davies, B. Mercer, G. Cunningham, S. Harkness, B. Sutherland.