Try-fest triumph for Tweedsiders

Kelso 42

Hawick YM 21


THIS was a game with nothing at stake as the qualifying stages of the national cup competition had been decided the previous week.

For Kelso, it was a try fest against local rivals from one division lower who came to Poynder on Friday night with a reputation of having a strong pack.

The game was a colourful affair with the young referee, Sam Grove-White, liberally dishing out cards. Yellows went to Kieran Cooney in the first half, and Ian Wallace and Michael Robertson nearer the end of the game, with YM prop Alistair Turnbull getting two yellows, resulting in a red card. All of this led to periods in the game where uncontested scrums were in evidence.

Kelso opened the scoring with a Richard Minto try closely followed by a Gregor Welsh penalty for YM. The home team was then awarded a penalty try which Greg Ponton converted before he slotted a 

Welsh kicked another penalty for YM before Minto and Ian Wallace scored further touchdowns for Kelso with Ponton converting the first.

YM had a period of success when Jason Hendrie scored a try which Welsh converted as he did with another penalty to close the half at 27-13 to Kelso.

Kelso scored two more tries in the second half through Adam Alexander and Richard Minto for his hat trick. Ponton kicked a penalty and converted Minto’s try. Michael Graham crossed for another try for the visitors while Welsh ended YM’s scoring with another penalty to close the 

All in all, this was an entertaining game with some fine running rugby. Kelso’s greater physicality was a determining factor in the result.

Kelso: G. Ponton; G. Millar, R. Minto, A. Alexander, G. Minto; C. Renton, F. Strachan; K. Cooney, C. Riddell, S. Lowrie, D. Seed, I. Wallace, E. Ford, M. Robertson, S. MacColl. Subs: P. Grahamslaw, A. Marsh, J. Stewart, A. Wallace, W. Massey.

Hawick YM: G. Welsh; L. Lawrence, M. Graham, J. Hendrie, N. McColm; D. McCracken, B. Campbell; B. Lilly, G. Douglas, A. Turnbull, B. Thomson, C. Robson, G. Kellington, S. Mabon, D. Cowan. Subs: S. Potts, S. Hill, R. Taylor.