True grit earns Selkirk bonus point win

Stewart’s Melville FP v Selkirk


Fiona Scott reports from Inverleith

SELKIRK bounced back from the disappointment of the Biggar abandonment the previous week with a hard fought, gritty victory over Stewart’s Melville FP.

Selkirk started the stronger and got themselves encamped in the Stew Mel 22. Michael McVie missed a penalty and Fraser Harkness was stopped just short of the line.

The hosts got a break on the counter however and went ahead with a Richard Borthwick try.

McVie was unlucky to have his second penalty attempt bounce back off the posts and once again Stew Mel scored against the run of play when Liam Steele went on a sprint to touch down.

Selkirk responded and this time managed to get the points, Darren Clapperton running in for McVie to convert, and just as the 30 minute mark approached Rory Banks ran through to edge the visitors in front.

The visitors snatched the lead back when Mike Hanning slotted over a brace of penalties in rapid succession.

As the game moved into half time McVie popped over a penalty of his own, closing the gap to a single point before Rory Banks ran in his second, converted by McVie, putting Selkirk 22-16 up at half time.

It was more of the same after the restart. Stew Mel went back in front when Hayden Lingard crossed the whitewash and Mike Hanning converted. Selkirk lost Neil Darling to the sin bin but managed to hold on and once they were back to a full quota got themselves ahead with a Michael McVie penalty.

Going into the last 10 minutes the game was still very much in the balance with Selkirk leading 25-23 but the gritty Souters found a little more in the tank and some slick handling by Angus Duckett and Matt Kissick led to replacement Callum Johnston throwing himself over the line for the bonus point try. Michael McVie converted and it was with much celebration that the large travelling Selkirk support met the final whistle.

Selkirk: R. Banks; S. Hendrie, F. Harkness, R. Nixon, D. Clapperton; G. Craig, M. McVie; C. Lacour, S. Forrest, C. Graur, A. Renwick, M. Kissick, N. Darling, A. Duckett, R. Crockatt. Subs: K. Monks, C. Johnston, J. Bett, M. Waldron, E. MacDougall.