Stirling set for the high life as Gytes men fail to put up the obstacles

Stirling County 37

Peebles 10


PEEBLES handed Stirling County their passage to playing top flight rugby next season in a disappointing defeat at Bridgehaugh.

The visitors found themselves under pressure from the off with Jonny Hope scoring the first of two early penalties in the third minute, the second being four minutes later following a block by Shanon Temita on Bengi Bersanti, which saw the Peebles No6 yellow-carded.

County took advantage of their numerical superiority and following a spell of pressure by the forwards, Tim Clarke peeled off a drive to score the opening try which Hope converted.

Peebles responded immediately, with a speculative high kick, which County fumbled in their 22, and carelessly left the ball for Neil Hogarth to kick ahead and score in the corner.

On the half-hour mark, Peebles were penalised for killing the ball on halfway, with Hope kicking the penalty to the right corner. Following a series of swift passes Ben Addison strolled over the line with Hope again adding the extras.

County continued to press and were rewarded when Clarke scored his second under the posts, with Hope converting to give County a 27-3 half-time lead.

Peebles came more into the match after the break. Neil Warnock broke clear on 60 minutes only to be tackled just short of the line, the ball was recycled and Drew Moore scored out wide.

With five minutes remaining, Peebles’ Matt Carryer was yellow-carded for killing the ball and from the penalty and line-out take Bersanti scored in the corner.

Bersanti’s joy was short lived as he was yellow-carded moments later and the referee hardly had time to put the card back in his pocket before Peebles replacement Graham Hogarth was also sent to the sin-bin for a dangerous tackle.

With 14 against 13 in the final moments, County exploited the space and completed the scoring with Simpson diving over.

Peebles: D. Anderson; D. Clancy, Moffat, D. McLean, N. Hogarth; N Warnock, D. Moore; M. Carryer, R. McConnell, A. Clark, D. Harvey, K. Clyde, S. Temita, A Warnock, E. Jackson. Subs: A Brown, D Brown, G. Hogarth, Flynn.