South girls head to Murrayfield

South Barbarians 15

Comm. School of Auchterardar 12



BORDERS-based South Barbarians made it through to the final of the Brewin Dolphin Cup, to be played at Murrayfield on March 25, in their inaugural year.

A large crowd turned out at Milntown to cheer the girls on and none were disappointed as some strong running by both sides was only stopped by some crunching tackles from players who showed plenty of commitment. The home side started stronger and took the game to the opposition, and after recycling well in a series of rucks, they set the backs away and Lisa Thomson broke the defence from inside her own half to score between the posts and convert.

The visitors responded well and South had to defend continuous attacks as they were kept pinned in their half. Just before the end of the first period the visitors got a deserved try after their winger managed to break a tackle, only to be held up short of the line. Support was on hand, however, to gather and score in the corner. South held on for their 7-5 lead at half-time.

After the restart, Barbarians raised their game and it was the visitors who had to defend. Against the run of play, Rachel Law made a fine break, resulting in Megan Paisley, on her debut, rounding her opposite winger and running 50m to score.

Shortly after, and with the home side pressing again, Auchterardar were penalised under the shadow of their own posts and Lisa Thomson slotted the kick between the uprights. This proved valuable as minutes later Auchterardar managed to break a couple of tackles for a try which was converted. It was a tense last three minutes and the South had to tackle hard to hold on to their win.

South Barbarians: N. Campbell (Hawick); Z. Clarkson(Hawick), E. Beattie (Langholm), L. Thomson (Hawick), M. Paisley (Langholm); R. Law (Murrayfield Wanderers), C. Cottrell(Selkirk); I. Bruce (Murrayfield Wanderers), S. Murray(Langholm), L. Rae(Langholm), E. Seed(Langholm), L. Meager (Melrose), R. Weir(Langholm). Subs; R. Young (Langholm), S. Sodden (Murrayfield Wanderers).