Souters send coach Cassidy off on a high

Selkirk v Stuart Melville. Michael Davies
Selkirk v Stuart Melville. Michael Davies


Stewart’s Melville19

IT WAS the final match of the season in the National League for both Selkirk and Stewart’s Melville and there was nothing at stake.

Both teams decided to blood some youngsters and there appeared to be an unwritten law that no-one would go for goal if they won a penalty. Instead, the doors were flung open for a free night for spectators and they were treated to a game of open running rugby. Selkirk scored two tries in the opening 10 minutes, courtesy of captain Andrew Renwick and Matt Kissick, who both touched down in almost identical places.

On the half-hour came the try of the match. Prop Mike Waldron was yellow-carded after an incident on his own try line and Selkirk faced a scrum with a man short. Somehow they won the ball and from the possession took play right up to the other end of the park for Gavin Craig to touch down.

While down to 14 men, Stewart’s Melville hit back with a try from Stuart MacDonald to make it 19-5 at the interval, but Selkirk posted two further tries before the hour. John Everitt came off the bench to score, as did James Bett who was gifted the ball and only needed to trot in to touch down. Eddie Turner gave Selkirk their sixth try, while a couple of late tries from Stu Shaw and Angus Lean gave Stew Mel some consolation points.

Rory Banks had a good evening with the boot, successful with five from six conversions. Selkirk ended in fourth place and coach Brian Cassidy, who stepped down as coach after the game, will be satisfied with the state he’s leaving the club in for next season.

“They all put in a good shift today,” he said. “But all season they’ve worked hard and that’s what it’s all about. If you don’t have the effort you’ve got nothing.”

Selkirk: F. Harkness; A. Given, L. MacLennan, C. MacDougall, R. Banks; G. Craig, M. Davies; M. Waldron, S. Forrest, C. Graur, A. Renwick, E. Turner, E. MacDougall, A. Duckett, M. Kissick. Subs: C. McColm, J. Bett, R. Wilson, C. Henderson, J. Everitt.