Smith takes the reins of Club XV

Hawick prop Shaun Muir is one of 13 new players in the 2014/15 Club XV squad
Hawick prop Shaun Muir is one of 13 new players in the 2014/15 Club XV squad

Heriot’s head coach Phil Smith will take the reins of the Scotland Club XV team for the 2014/15 season.

Hawick’s Gordon Henderson will fulfil the role of assistant coach, while Heriot’s Jamie Parker comes in as skills coach.

Smith said: “I hope the Scotland Club XV can show off our domestic game in 2015.

“I’m delighted to be handed this chance. Being given the opportunity to coach this team is a reward for me and I hope it is the same for the players.

“In terms of my backroom staff, Gordon is a guy who brings a lot of experience having been involved in a number of representative teams over the years.

“He brings enthusiasm and I believe this alone will carry the boys forward.

“Jamie is a up and coming coach who I have a coaching relationship with so I want him to work on the contact area with the squad.

“He brings a lot as a lecturer in sports coaching, particularly variety, there’s something a bit different in his approach, which is great.”

The side will play two fixtures in February 2015. The first will be against Ireland Club International, followed by a match against English Counties for the first time. The final dates for these matches are to be confirmed.

With the team’s first training session just around the corner, a squad of 28 players has been selected from eight of ten BT Premiership clubs, 13 of the group are to new the squad.

Smith continued: “With limited sessions I don’t want to spend time looking at big numbers of players and who’s the better than who, I want to focus on helping the group gel and forming relationships.

“I want to make the most of the time we have together and to see them start working together.

“The group I have selected have been performing well all season and this is their reward, a chance to play for their country.”

2014/14 Club XV squad

Forwards: **Ewan McQuillin (Melrose/Edinburgh Rugby), Struan Cessford (Heriot’s), *Stephen Findlay (Glasgow Hawks), *Shaun Muir (Hawick), *Nick Beavon (Melrose), **Fergus Scott (Ayr/Glasgow Warriors), Russell Anderson (Gala), Scott Sutherland (Ayr), *Russell Nimmo (Heriot’s), Callum Templeton (Ayr), **Tommy Spinks (Glasgow Hawks/Glasgow Warriors), Ross Weston (Currie), Jason Hill (Heriot’s), Gary Graham (Gala) and *Peter Eccles (Melrose).

Backs: Fraser Thomson (Melrose), *Sam Pecqueur (Edinburgh Accies), *Harry Boisseau (Heriot’s), Craig Gossman (Ayr), *Scott McLeod (Hawick), *Liam Steele (Heriot’s), Ross Curle (Ayr), **Chris Auld (Gala/Edinburgh Rugby), *Rory Hutton (Hawick), Stuart Edwards, *Gregor McNeish, *Graham Wilson (all Heriot’s) and George Graham (Gala).


**BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 Player