Six Nations selections

Borders rugby players Greig Laidlaw (captain), Stuart Hogg, Geoff Cross and Ross Ford have avoided the axe being wielded by new Scotland rugby coach Vern Cotter.

The quartet have been named in a Six Nations squad which features four uncapped players. Significant omissions include former skipper and Melrose man Kelly Brown. Full selection at