Selkirk win own sevens tournament with 27-7 win over Melrose

Selkirk thumped Melrose 27-7 in the final of their own sevens tournament to lift the title for the fifth time in six years.

Tries from Angus Duckett, player of the tournament Darren Clapperton, Callum McColm, skipper Gavin Craig and Rory Banks saw the Souters home in a superb final showing. Graeme Dodds scored Melrose’s only try.

Selkirk had been poor in the early stages but found their form against Melrose, who looked tired after an extra time win in the semi finals versus Watsonians.

Melrose still lead the DS Dalgleish Kings of the Sevens table by four points from Watsonians, who are the only side who can catch the Greenyards men heading into Jed Forest Sevens next Saturday.

Full report in Southern Reporter on Thursday.

First round: Gala 24 Heriot’s 19 (after extra time); Edinburgh Accies 24 Hawick 19; Selkirk 24 Falkirk 10; Watsonians 33 Hillhead/Jordanhill 5; Ayr 55 Berwick 0; Melrose 35 Peebles 12; Jed-Forest 36 Langholm 7.

Quarter finals: Gala 24 Edinburgh Accies 5; Selkirk 19 Glasgow Hawks 15; Watsonians 35 Ayr 0; Melrose 21 Jed-Forest 17.

Semi finals: Gala 10 Selkirk 12; Watsonians 14 Melrose 19 (after extra time).

Final: Selkirk 27 Melrose 7.

Selkirk: A. Duckett, F. Harkness, M. Kissick, D. Clapperton, C. McColm, G. Craig, S. Hendrie, E. Macdougall, M. Davies, R. Banks.

Melrose: G. Dodds, R. Mill, R. Ovens, B. Colvine, A. Skeen, A. Dodds, C. Anderson, A. Nagle, J. Helps, L. Mallin.