Selkirk go West for tight victory

West of Scotland 21

Selkirk 23


GEORGE THOMSON reports from Burnbrae

CONSTANT rain in Glasgow resulted in a sodden pitch – and the first half was a somewhat tousy affair.

Scott Hendrie relieved pressure on Selkirk when he made touch with a 60m siege-gun kick following a strike against the head. Darren Clapperton showed signs of his pace with a lively scamper up the left wing, but West took a deserved lead when Ross McAulay slotted a well-struck penalty.

However, David Cassidy levelled the score on the half-hour mark.

Then fly half Gavin Craig made a telling break in his own typical style and linked up with Fraser Harkness, who timed his pass to perfection, allowing Clapperton to race in for a well-executed try.

Cassidy missed the conversion, but added a second penalty.

The half-time score of 11-3 perhaps flattered Selkirk slightly.

Cassidy’s value as a goal kicker surfaced again in the second half when he stretched the lead with a couple of long-range efforts. West struck back as a rolling maul resulted in hooker Simon Kay crashing over for a try.

Five minutes later, after intense West pressure, Selkirk conceded a penalty in front of the posts, converted by McAulay. The incident leading up to the penalty resulted in yellow cards being shown to Harkness and West’s Jamie McAulay.

Selkirk’s plight became even worse when Rory Aglen was sin-binned and Ross McAulay reduced the arrears to only three points from the resultant penalty.

But with the Souters down to 13 men, David Cassidy stretched the lead to nine points after nailing two more penalties, giving him a personal tally of 18 points for the day.

It came as no surprise when West mounted a last-ditch attempt to secure a home win and Neil Heron delighted home fans with a late try which McAulay easily converted, leaving a frantic final five minutes of play.

Selkirk finished the game in charge, though, with Cassidy belting the ball into touch when the referee indicated that full time had been played.

Selkirk: F. Harkness; S. Hendrie, D. Cassidy, R. Nixon, D. Clapperton; G. Craig, M. McVie; G. Patterson, S. Forrest, C. Lacour, C. Marshall, R. Aglen, N. Darling, C. Johnston, A. Renwick. Subs: N. Godsmark, P. Forrest, R. Taylor, R. Crockatt.