Rugby: Two changes in Edinburgh team for 1872 Cup decider

editorial image

Following Edinburgh’s 23-11 win over Glasgow, in front of a record-breaking 23,642 crowd at BT Murrayfield on Sunday, there are just two changes for the deciding leg at Scotstoun on Saturday (k/o 5.15pm).

Damien Hoyland comes into the starting XV on the left wing in place of Tom Brown who has picked up a shoulder injury. Meanwhile in the pack, Ben Toolis switches places with brother Alex to start at lock.

Jack Cuthbert retains the 15 jersey while Dougie Fife – who will win his 75th cap for the club on Saturday – stays on the right wing. Michael Allen and opening try scorer against Glasgow, Matt Scott, continue their centre partnership. Stand-off Phil Burleigh and scrum half Sam Hidalgo-Clyne – who slotted three penalties and two conversions on Sunday – remain as half-back pairing.

In the pack, the front row of Rory Sutherland, Ross Ford and WP Nel is retained while Anton Bresler remains to partner Ben Toolis at lock. The team will be led out, once more, by Mike Coman at blindside, with Cornell Du Preez again at no 8 and Sunday’s second try scorer John Hardie at openside.

Edinburgh, who currently hold the Cup, go into the fixture sitting in fifth place in the Guinness PRO12 table, two points above Glasgow in seventh, and with a winning margin of 12 points from the first leg. As the club prepare to make the journey to the other end of the M8, however, head coach Alan Solomons is in no doubt of the task ahead on Warriors’ home turf.

He said: “We appreciate the challenge we face this weekend and are preparing accordingly.”

Players not considered due to injury: Tom Brown (shoulder), Alasdair Dickinson (calf), Grant Gilchrist (groin), Will Helu (shoulder), Nasi Manu (neck), Stuart McInally (neck), Fraser McKenzie (neck), Jade Te Rure (knee), Hamish Watson (knee).

Edinburgh Rugy: Jack Cuthbert; Dougie Fife, Michael Allen, Matt Scott, Damien Hoyland; Phil Burleigh, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne; Rory Sutherland, Ross Ford, WP Nel, Anton Bresler, Ben Toolis, Mike Coman (captain), John Hardie, Cornell Du Preez. Subs: Neil Cochrane, Allan Dell, John Andress, Alex Toolis, Jamie Ritchie, Sean Kennedy, Greig Tonks, Andries Strauss.