Peebles in hearty show

Peebles 17

Watsonians 32


STUART CAMERON reports from The Gytes

YOU wouldn’t think that Peebles had a great deal to play for in their game against promotion-seeking Watsonians in this Premier B clash.

But despite having a dozen players on the injury list and the fact that they cannot be promoted themselves, it certainly didn’t stop the Borders team from having a real go at their opponents.

Despite giving away eight penalties in the first 10 minutes, Peebles managed to get their noses 7-3 in front on 15 minutes with an Alan Warnock try.

That cancelled out a Mike Ker penalty goal, but it wasn’t long before flying full back Jamie Forbes – well known on the Kings of the 7s circuit – sprinted in to touch down and regain the lead for Watsonians, with Ker converting.

Forbes nipped in for another free-flowing try before Dale Clancy followed up his own kick to dive over for a score and get to within three points, but in injury time it was that man Forbes again who was given far too much space and raced in unopposed for his third try, again converted by Ker, to give the visitors a 10-point cushion at the break.

Supporters had to wait 20 minutes before any more points were scored, and this time it was Ross Aitken coming off the bench to jink his way over.

It was an uphill struggle from then on for Peebles, but credit to them for playing on under tremendous pressure when captain Drew Moore left the field injured and a major reshuffle saw flanker Euan Jackson move to scrum half with centre Dave McLean coming into the back row – not an ideal situation.

Peebles had to make do with five second team players on the pitch at one point so they did well, but when ex-Selkirk player Danny Moussa strolled in for Watsonians’ fifth try the game was virtually over.

There was still time for Peebles to get a third touchdown thanks to second row Ken Clyde to make the score respectable at 17-32 ,but despite the effort put in by the “all-but-one” homegrown side it was Watsonians who triumphed.

Peebles: D. Anderson, M. Clyde, A. Moffat, D. McLean, D. Clancy; N. Warnock, D. Moore; A. Brown, M. Carryer, A. Clark, K. Clyde, D. Harvey, A. Warnock, E. Jackson, D. Paton. Subs: R. McConnell, G. Hogarth, R. Wilson, P. Kerr.