Morpeth raid deprives Gala Wanderers of second Sevens win

Morpeth Colts crossed the border and run away with the Kelso Quins trophy from under the noses of some slick Borders’ sides.

Gala Wanderers who had won the Peebles cup the previous weekend looked the likely winners after comfortable wins in the first two rounds against Peebles Colts and Hawick Wanderers. It took them a little longer to subdue the vigour of Hawick PSA in the semi final.

In the meantime, Morpeth Colts had accounted for the holders, Selkirk Youth Club, in the first round before gaining an easy win over a Melrose Wasps side which looked quite promising early on.

Morpeth put the hosts, Kelso Harlequins A, to the sword in the semi final to set up a final between the two sharpest teams on the day.

Wands, who are still fighting for trophies on a few fronts as the season reaches its climax, opened the scoring through the impressive Rhuaridh Howarth. This was followed up by a try by James Parker, who had been an effective strike force all afternoon. Morpeth hit back with tries by Kieran Brown and their captain, Alex Tait, to take the match at half time to 12-10 for Gala.

Gala drew first blood in the second half with another Parker try but Morpeth were not beaten yet and they gradually closed the gap with a Chris Stodhart try followed by the winning try by the star of the tournament, Kieran Brown. His conversions took Morpeth into a 24-19 lead and that was that for the raiding Northumbrians.

Gala Wanderers: Josh Irvine, Liam Scott, Gary Robertson, Mark Amos, Rhuaridh Howarth, David Nicholson, James Parker, Blair Reavely, Ryan Shaw, Keith Young.

Morpeth Colts: Sam Lamont, Greg Henderson, Chris Stodhart, Nick Birch, Jack Elliot, Kieran Brown, Alex Tait, Tom Manley, Callum Lawn, Chase Evans.


First round: Gala Wanderers 35 Peebles Colts 7; Haddington Colts 12 Hawick Wanderers 47; Jed Thistle 31 Kelso Harlquins B 10; Hawick PSA 24 Langholm Colts 12; Melrose Wasps 33 Tynedale Colts 0; Selkirk Yoputh Club 10 Morpeth Colts 24; Duns Colts 33 Edinburgh BATS 10; Kelso Harlequins A 29 Berwick Colts 5.

Second round: Gala Wanderers 36 Hawick Wanderers 7; Jed Thistle 12 Hawick PSA 22; Melros Wasps 5 Morpeth Colts 29, Duns Colts 14 Kelso Harlequins A 34.

Semi finals: Gala Wanderers 26 Hawick PSA 12; Morpeth Colts 45 Kelso Harlequins A 0.

Final: Gala Wanderers 19 Morpeth Colts 24.