Massacre at Mansfield Haugh

Hawick YM 94

Newton Stewart 7


NOW into the business end of the season, Hawick YM welcomed to Mansfield Haugh visitors Newton Stewart, who, in the corresponding fixture earlier in the season, ran the Redskins close.

This time, however, the match turned into a massacre.

It took only four minutes for the first score, Scott McLeod strolling in under the posts, and another seven followed before the halfway stage. Ross Borthwick, Stephen Hill, Lewis Mallin, Billy Lilly, Lee Armstrong, Shaun Desport and Bruce Campbell all touched down, with Armstrong making seven conversions, to make the score 54-0 in favour of the hosts at the break.

The first try of the second half and the ninth of the match fell to Dean McCracken who accepted a flip pass from Campbell to fall over the line. Stephen Hill scored his second try of the match, followed by others from Ali Weir (2) and Borthwick, Armstrong converting four.

To the credit of the visitors they kept plugging away and bossed the next 10 minutes, and the biggest roar of the day came when prop Ross Drysdale crossed for a deserved consolation try converted by David Sommerville.

With seven minutes left Jamie Tinlin bagged YM’s 14th and final try with a great solo run to dot down under the posts on his 21st birthday weekend.

Armstrong kicked the goal and to the dismay of the crowd the referee blew the final whistle six minutes early.

Man of the match went to Armstrong with a personal tally of 29 points.

Hawick YM: C. Ritson; S. Desport, S. McLeod, D. McCracken, G. Desport; L. Armstrong, B. Campbell; B. Lilly, G. Douglas, A. Turnbull, J. Tinlin, L. Mallin, R. Borthwick, S. Hill, C. Robson. Subs: R. Halliday, G. Cannon and A. Weir.