Local rugby quartet set for southern hemisphere

FOUR Borders rugby players have been named today in Scotland’s 28-strong playing squad for their summer tour to Australasia.

Ross Ford (Kelso) will retain the captaincy while Geoff Cross (Gala), Stuart Hogg (Hawick) and Greig Laidlaw (Jedburgh) complete the local quartet.

Lee Jones (Selkirk) and Kelly Brown (Melrose) were ruled out due to injury.

RBS Scotland squad for the summer tour to Australia, Fiji and Samoa:

Backs ‑ Joe Ansbro (London Irish), Mike Blair, Tom Brown (both Edinburgh Rugby), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh Rugby), Max Evans (Castres), Alex Grove (Worcester Warriors), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby), Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Matt Scott (Edinburgh Rugby), Tim Visser (Edinburgh Rugby) and Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors)

Forwards ‑ John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Geoff Cross, Ross Ford CAPTAIN (both Edinburgh Rugby), Ryan Grant, Richie Gray, Dougie Hall, Robert Harley, Alastair Kellock (all Glasgow Warriors), Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Euan Murray (Newcastle Falcons), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh Rugby), Tom Ryder (Glasgow Warriors), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester), Richie Vernon (Sale Sharks) and Jon Welsh (Glasgow Warriors).