Linden kick-start season with a win

Kelso 2nds 12

Hawick Linden 38


LINDEN started their season with a well-earned and comprehensive victory over their junior counterparts at Kelso on Saturday.

With most of last season’s regulars back and a good sprinkling of young newcomers, including Sean Fairbairn, Rory Hamilton, Will Barker, Bradley Mercer and Connor Gracie, things don’t look too bad for the forthcoming season.

With play pretty evenly spread in opening exchanges, Linden were first off the mark with a cracker of a try when their forwards won the ball in their own half and shipped it quickly along the line. Steven Bouglas made ground and released Nathan Murray with a superbly timed pass, who sped 70 yards to the line. Stuart Renwick converted.

A chip kick from Renwick then allowed Bouglas to pounce and score.

The game was now all Linden and good ball from Gary Wardle, who along with Terry Skeet had been knocking holes in the Kelso defence, led to Bouglas feeding Murray for an easy try.

Kelso replied with a try of their own from skipper Craig Renton, before loose play on the Kelso line saw Wardle rob the opposition and set up Gavin Stirling for Graeme Colville to charge over line to score, with Renwick making the conversion.

Once again, Linden went on the charge and another chip kick from Renwick saw Murray win the race to touch down. Then Bouglas stole ball from the opposition to round the defence and race in to touch down, Stirling converting.

Kelso had the final word with a converted try. Derek Welsh was the player to touch down, with Renton knocking over the extras.

Hawick Linden: N. Murray; G. Thomson, S. Bouglas, S. Williams, C. Gracie; S. Renwick, G. Stirling; T. Skeet, B. Mercer, K. Mabon, S. Fairbairn, B. Willison, G. Wardle, C. Telfer, G. Colville. Subs: G. Bouglas, G. Cunningham, R. Hamilton, M. Knight, C. Mitchell, W. Barker.

Kelso 2nds: Andrew Haig, G. Millar, L. Jarvis, T. Wichary, Alan Haig, C. Renton, A. Cameron, D. Sinclair, R. Maxwell, A. Frame, D. Welsh, J. Gray, K. Dryden, R. Tinlin, R. Wishart. Subs: D. Leitch, L. Bottomley, N. Wichary, T. Baird, L. Wichary.