Linden fail to make good start count as seasiders put game beyond them

North Berwick 31

Hawick Linden 14


DESPITE a couple of late call-offs Linden made a great start against North Berwick.

Following a line-out, Steven Bouglas made the initial thrust before Graham Colville charged on and fed back inside to the supporting Craig Mitchell for a lovely try. Gavin Stirling added the conversion.

North Berwick hit back quickly, a neat chip kick in behind the defence bouncing kindly for their winger who raced over.

A penalty for the home side put them ahead and soon after they added their second try. Another kick opened up Linden and the covering Colville held back a home player who would probably have scored, but the next supporting North Berwick man touched down anyway.

However, Colville didn’t escape punishment and spent 10 minutes in the sin bin. While he was off, the home side pressurised a Linden scrum and their number 8 went over.

Lee Robson replaced the injured Stuart Campbell just before North Berwick kicked a penalty to complete the first-half scoring and stretch the lead to 21-7.

After a series of penalties against Linden, the home side crossed for a try from a line-out catch and drive. Soon after, a kick proved fruitful for North Berwick, who scored their third try from such tactics.

With over 20 minutes remaining Linden could have crumbled, but they showed great character as they were the better side for the rest of the match. They went through some good phases and an inside ball found Bouglas running a great line to score at the posts for Stirling to knock over the conversion.

The visitors’ efforts probably deserved another score, but they couldn’t add to their tally.

Gavin Stirling slotted in well at stand-off and was superbly served by Lyon Farmer. Greig Richardson tackled well as did the whole back row with Greg Cunningham doing the unseen chores at the breakdown.

Hawick Linden: N. Murray, M. Megahy, S. Bouglas, G. Richardson, S. Campbell, G. Stirling, L. Farmer; K. Mabon, J. Tait, T. Skeet, J. Scott, M. Davidson, C. Mitchell, G. Cunningham, G. Colville; Subs: M. Knight, L. Robson.