Langholm take another victory

Langholm 15

Linlithgow 7


PERIODS of tremendous defensive work, along with sheer determination and team spirit, gained this league win for Langholm, writes John Smith.

Linlithgow hammered on the home line on numerous occasions, but only managed to make the breach once.

The visitors produced the early pressure with a variety of attacks and had a penalty chance with only three minutes on the clock, but the attempt went wide.

Linlithgow continued to press through both forwards and backs with a number of surges at the line, but Langholm tackled like demons to keep them at bay.

Home flanker Scott Howatson made a positive thrust from just outside his 22 and the ball was fed through Keith Davidson and Niall Cubbon to winger Gavin Campbell. He raced up the touchline, but the cover did well to get back and he kicked in towards the posts, but failed to ground for the try.

A few minutes later Cubbon had a chance to put the Muckle Toon in front with a penalty, but the kick glanced off the outside of the upright.

A charge by home centre Leigh Dunsford was carried on by Campbell, who then fed the perfect inside pass to supporting No8 Steven Nicol who crossed the line, but Cubbon missed the conversion and it was 5-0 after 15 minutes.

Turnover ball by Linlithgow and a quick feed out saw the fly half kick and chase, getting the perfect bounce to race past the defence and score, with the conversion points added.

Cubbon missed with a penalty for Langholm and the visitors were off target with a drop goal attempt.

Following the resumption, a neat break by home full back Colin Jardine set up an attack near the visitors’ line and he was on hand to finish things off with a try at the posts. Cubbon added the extras.

Linlithgow held the territorial advantage and caused considerable problems at lineout, but the home side held out, and Cubbon landed a late penalty to seal matters.

Langholm: C. Jardine; A. Cavers, L. Dunsford, N. Cubbon, G. Campbell; K. Davidson, M. Young; M. Salaman, S. Jardine, C. Little, R. Taylor, S. Graham, J. Reid, S. Howatson, S. Nicol. Subs: J. Ratcliffe, D. Divers, L. Miller.