Greens hammer former pupils

Hawick 55

Stewart’s Melville FP 21


GAVIN GIBBON reports from Mansfield Park

GREENS supporters were treated to another try-fest on Saturday as Hawick racked up nine tries to demolish Stewart’s Melville.

With Rory Hutton at his enigmatic best and Lee Armstrong and Scott McLeod full of running in the backs; and Shawn Muir, Lindsay Gibson, Stuart Graham and Nick Mactaggart all powerhouses in the pack; the result should never have been in doubt.

But the home side kept their supporters on tenterhooks until midway through the second half before running away with the win.

McLeod got the scoreboard ticking over in the third minute as he took advantage of a typical Hutton break through the defence.

Neil Renwick added the conversion and Armstrong was next to go over just minutes later.

Poor discipline in the home ranks allowed Chris Dansteegt to rumble over from a line-out.

But Hawick were back on top soon after and Gary Johnstone scorched down the line to score, before Armstrong claimed his second try of the afternoon – and the bonus point – right on half-time, with Renwick adding the extras.

Mactaggart grabbed a try his play merited just minutes after the restart as he took advantage of quick ball through the backs and Renwick converted.

But this seemed to stir Stewart’s Melville into action and a double from captain Craig Marshall, both converted by Hanning, drew them to within 10 points.

However, the Greens found that extra gear and an opportunist score from Kieran Willison calmed the nerves.

And John Coutts came in off his wing to combine well with Hutton, who sent McLeod racing in to all but seal the victory.

With 10 minutes to play, however, there was no thought of relaxing and captain Greg Cottrell took advantage of some quick thinking from replacement David Lowrie to reach the half century.

And Hutton crowned a fantastic performance with the final try of the afternoon.

Hawick: N. Renwick; J. Coutts, G. Johnstone, L. Armstrong, S. McLeod; R. Hutton, G. Cottrell; S. Muir, L. Gibson, L. Launders, C. Smith, K. Willison, N. Mactaggart, S. Graham and K. Davies. Subs: M. Landels, D. Lowrie, B. Keown, G. Anderson and S. Anderson.