Gala win battle of Wanderers

editorial image
Share this article

Gala Wanderers turned on the style to win the Langholm Colts Sevens at Milntown last Saturday in fine dry weather, beating Hawick Wanderers 48-17 in the final, writes John Smith.

The sevens were played in a pool system on two pitches and after some entertaining ties Hawick Wanderers faced Kelso Harlequins in the first semi-final and won by 24-14.

Gala Wanderers beat Selkirk Youth Club 36-10 in the other semi-final.

Gala tries in the final came from Ruairi Howarth (4), Callum Hunter (2), Garry Robertson and Mark Amos. Howarth added four conversions.

Hawick Wanderers had tries from Darcy Graham, Matthew Mallin and Sean Chapman, with a conversion from Dean Gillan.

The Jim Telford Memorial Cup was presented by his daughter Lindsey Cook to Gala Wanderers captain Ewan Pflug.

Results: Pool A – Melrose Wasps 25, Peebles Colts 0; Melrose Wasps 5, Kelso Quins 15; Peebles Colts 12, Kelso Quins 29.

Pool B – Hawick Wanderers 41, President’s Seven 7; Hawick Wanderers 26, Duns Colts 21; President’s Seven 0, Duns Colts 52.

Pool C – Selkirk Youth Club 24, Berwick Colts 7; Selkirk Youth Club 24, Langholm Colts 7; Langholm Colts 17, Berwick Colts 29.

Pool D – Gala Wanderers 27, Jed Thistle 17; Gala Wanderers 38, Tynedale Colts 5; Jed Thistle 44, Tynedale Colts 5.

Semi-finals – Hawick Wanderers 24, Kelso Quins 14; Selkirk Youth Club 10, Gala Wanderers 36.

Final – Gala Wanderers 48, Hawick Wanderers 17.

Gala Wanderers: C. Hunter, R. Howarth, L. Pringle, G. Robertson, E. Pflug, C. Hancock, J. Brown, M. Amos, D. Nicholson, L. Johnston.

Hawick Wanderers: R. Elliot, R. Taylor, A. Baillie, F. Renwick, R. McLean, M. Mallin, G.Huggan, D. Graham, D. Gillan, S. Chapman.