Gala retain John Laing Sevens title

Gala comfortably retained the John Laing Sevens trophy at Poynder Park on Tuesday night by beating Jed-Forest in the final.

They were tested by Melrose in the semis, but they scored late on to reach the final, which, although keenly contested up to half-time, was a stroll in the park for the Maroons.

Tries by Gary Adams and Keith Young, one of which was converted by Craig Dods, gave the holders a 12-0 interval lead. Jed should have had a try late in the first period, but Greg Walker was overly clever in an attempt to make the conversion easier.

Scorers in the second half were Scott Wilkinson, Rex Jeffrey, Ryan Shaw and Craig Dods, who sealed the 36-5 win by adding a couple of conversions. Jed’s Ewan Monro snatched a consolation try.

Earlston had replaced Berwick, but suffered a seven-try demolition by Melrose.

The hosts played some good continuity rugby in their first-round match against Peebles, but did not have the firepower to cope with Jed.