ex-Selkirk player Alex Dunbar in Scotland rugby squad to play in South Africa

Alex Dunbar in action in the BL final against Melrose
Alex Dunbar in action in the BL final against Melrose

Former Selkirk centre Alex Dunbar has been included in the Scotland squad for this first time.

The Glasgow Warrior will travel as part of the national team which heads to South Africa to play against the Springboks and Samoa in a four-team tournament which also involves Italy.

The only other Borderers involved are Greig Laidlaw, Kelly Brown, Geoff Cross and Ross Ford, with Hawick’s Stuart Hogg picked for the British Lions last week.

Scotland head coach Scott Johnson said: “First up, it’s a strong squad designed to win test matches against quality opposition.

“We’ve continued to monitor the players’ form closely and we’ve been pleased that Glasgow have reached the knockout stages of the Rabo.

“We are taking the opportunity to have a look at some players and want to assess what they’re like at this level. We need to be able to find out whether players who’ve done the business for their clubs can replicate that form in international footy.

“We also want to enable certain players who are known to us – for example Nick De Luca and Max Evans – to have the sort of off-season physical preparation that they’ve not had for a few years because of the demands of touring schedules.”


Saturday, June 8 v Samoa, King’s Park, Durban; Saturday, June 15 v South Africa, Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit; Saturday, June 22 match to determine final placings, Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria.

Scotland squad: Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Tom Heathcote (Bath Rugby), Peter Horne, Ruaridh Jackson (both Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh Rugby), Sean Lamont, Peter Murchie, Henry Pyrgos (all Glasgow Warriors), Matt Scott (Edinburgh Rugby), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Taylor (Saracens), Greig Tonks* and Tim Visser (both Edinburgh Rugby).

John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Johnnie Beattie (Montpellier), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Geoff Cross, David Denton (both Edinburgh Rugby), Alasdair Dickinson (Sale Sharks), Ross Ford, Grant Gilchrist (both Edinburgh Rugby), Ryan Grant (Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester Rugby), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Steven Lawrie (Edinburgh Rugby), Moray Low, Pat MacArthur (both Glasgow Warriors), Euan Murray (Worcester Warriors), Alasdair Strokosch (Perpignan), Tim Swinson and Ryan Wilson (both Glasgow Warriors).