Club XV international switched to Netherdale

Fraser Thomson scored two tries for Melrose
Fraser Thomson scored two tries for Melrose

Nine Borders players have claimed places in the Scotland Club XV for their opening match of 2015, which will now be played at Netherdale on Friday night (6.30pm).

The match was originally destined for Old Anniesland, home of Glasgow Hawks, however, due to freezing conditions in the city, the fixture has been relocated.

Head coach Phil Smith has named seven new caps in the starting XV for his side’s annual Dalriada Cup clash against Ireland Club XV, including Hawick winger Scott McLeod, prop Nick Beavon (Melrose) and Gala hooker Russell Anderson. Hawick prop Shawn Muir and back-row man Peter Eccles (Melrose) could win their first caps from the bench.

“Picking seven debutants shows that we are selecting players from the club game who are on form. It is my intention to reward players for their consistent and excellent efforts in the league,” said Smith.

Melrose full-back Fraser Thomson also makes the starting line-up with Ewan McQuillin (Melrose), George Graham and Chris Auld (both Gala) on the bench. Ayr’s Ross Curle, will captain the side.

Supporters who have purchased tickets for Old Anniesland already can still attend the game with their existing ticket.

Tickets for Friday’s game are available for £12 for adults on the gate, while under-18s go free. Scotland Season Pass holders have free access to all Scotland’s home representative fixtures in 2015.

Scotland Club XV team to pay Ireland Club XV at Netherdale, Galashiels on Friday 6 February (kick-off 6.30pm):

15 Fraser Thomson (Melrose)

14 Craig Gossman (Ayr)

13 Liam Steele (Heriot’s)*

12 Ross Curle (Ayr) CAPTAIN

11 Scott McLeod (Hawick)*

10 Stuart Edwards (Heriot’s)

9 Graham Wilson (Heriot’s)*

1 Nick Beavon (Melrose)*

2 Russell Anderson (Gala)*

3 Struan Cessford (Heriot’s)

4 Russell Nimmo (Heriot’s)*

5 Iain Moody (Boroughmuir)*

6 Jason Hill (Heriot’s)

7 Will Bordill (Ayr)

8 Ross Weston (Currie) VICE-CAPTAIN


16 Fergus Scott (Ayr)**

17 Ewan McQuillin (Melrose)

18 Shawn Muir (Hawick)*

19 Peter Eccles (Melrose)

20 Tommy Spinks (Glasgow Hawks) *|**

21 George Graham (Gala)

22 Gregor McNeish (Heriot’s)*

23 Chris Auld (Gala)**

* Denotes debutant

** Denotes BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 Player 2014/15