Change in format for Berwick Sevens

After the excitement of Cup Finals Day on Saturday, attention returns once more to the Kings of the Sevens on Sunday when the series rolls into Scremerston.

Berwick Rugby Club will host their annual tournament, sponsored by Drysdale’s Freight, and this year’s event will see a slight change to the format, with the 12 teams competing in a pool system with the winners going forward to the knock-out stages.

The competition features teams of a high quality, including last year’s winners and current series leaders Gala, Kings’ title holders Melrose and title chasers Jed-Forest.

Host club Berwick will compete in the same group as Edinburgh University and Hawick, and the Blacks will kick off the tournament in the first game, which is due to start at 1pm.

Other local interest will centre around Duns, who play in the same pool as Selkirk and Edinburgh Accies, and, like hosts Berwick, the Dingers will be making their first appearance of the season.

The draw is as follows: Pool 1 – Berwick, Edinburgh University and Hawick; Pool 2 – Selkirk, Duns and Edinburgh Accies; Pool 3 – Gala, Peebles & Watsonians; Pool 4 – Melrose, Kelso and Jed-Forest.