Borders quintet named in Six Nations opener

Scotland captain Kelly Brown
Scotland captain Kelly Brown

FIVE Borders rugby players have made it into Scott Johnson’s squad for Sunday’s Six Nations opener against Ireland.

Scotland will be captained by Kelly Brown, who will be winning his 61st cap, thus equalling Doddie Weir’s record as the most-capped product of the Melrose club.

Hawick’s Stuart Hogg returns at full-back having missed the viagogo Autumn Tests through injury while Greig Laidlaw (Jedburgh) and Ross Ford (Kelso) also make it into the starting line-up. Gala’s Geoff Cross will start on the bench.

Scotland team to play Ireland at the Aviva Stadium, Dublin on Sunday 2 February in the RBS 6 Nations Championship, kick-off 3pm.

Stuart Hogg; Sean Maitland, Alex Dunbar, Duncan Taylor, Sean Lamont; Duncan Weir, Greig Laidlaw; Ryan Grant, Ross Ford, Moray Low, Tim Swinson, Jim Hamilton, Ryan Wilson, Kelly Brown, David Denton. Subs: Pat MacArthur, Alasdair Dickinson, Geoff Cross, Richie Gray, Johnnie Beattie, Chris Cusiter, Matt Scott, Max Evans.