Plenty in reserve as Selkirk restrict Jed to single kick

Jed-Forest ‘A’ 3, Selkirk ‘A’ 42

Wednesday, 15th January 2020, 10:20 am
Liam Cassidy wins lineout ball for Selkirk 'A' in their 42-3 away win over Jed-Forest 'A' (picture by Grant Kinghorn)

Both sides contributed to an entertaining contest that belied the monsoon-like weather conditions which gripped Riverside Park on Saturday.

The visitors’ ability to hold on to possession – reinforced by some siege-gun kicks from fly-half David Cassidy – ultimately proved too potent a combination for a battling Jed team who never gave up the fight.

Saturday’s win moved Selkirk ‘A’ up to second spot in the Tennent’s Reserve League East 1 table, keeping the Souters in the frame for a possible play-off place at the end of the league campaign.

Sign up to our daily The Southern Reporter Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The visitors’ openside flanker, Jamie Turnbull, celebrated his return from injury with an outstanding all-round display, while lock forward Derry Alexander also gave a good account of himself after being side-lined since early November by a dislocated finger.

It was Jed who took the lead in only the second minute from a penalty by fly-half Lewis Turnbull but Selkirk hit back soon afterwards when number eight Robert Cook – yet another player making a comeback from injury – crossed for a try, converted by Scott Clark.

The visitors scored three further tries before half time through David Cassidy, Matthew Francis and Matthew Brass, all converted by Clark, giving Selkirk a 28-3 interval lead.

Robbie Reilly and Jy Griffin added further tries for the Souters in the second half, both converted by Scott Clark, whose faultless goal-kicking proved one of the highlights of the afternoon.

Jed-Forest ‘A’: K. Rowley, S. Davidson, S. Smith, J. Ferguson, T. Balderston, L. Turnbull, R. Douglas, F. Govan, K. Scott, M. Purves, L. Stewart, O. Robertson, J. Dagg, C. Douglas, D. Straker. Replacements: C. Liddle, R. Clarkson, J. Cowan, B. Howe, D. Hunter, A. Bambrick.

Selkirk ‘A’: R. Hamilton, M. Brass, J. Griffin, L. Martin, N. Armstrong, D. Cassidy, S. Clark, K. Thomson, M. Francis, R. Reilly, M. Mackay, D. Alexander, L. Cassidy, J. Turnbull, R. Cook. Replacements: P. Smail, M. Haldane, S. Wilson, A. Tennant, C. Young, S. Cockburn.

Referee – Darren Fisher (Hawick).