IN PICTURES: Selkirk Sevens action

Last weekend’s penultimate round of the Ned Haig Kings of the Sevens rugby tournament, at Selkirk, was won by Boroughmuir for the first time in their history.

Friday, 17th May 2019, 10:45 am
Winning Boroughmuir captain Chris Laing.

With this year’s event dominated by Edinburgh clubs, Watsonians were confirmed as overall winners with one round still to go, after they reached the quarter-finals. Host club Selkirk were understandably keen to do well in their own contest and also made it to the last eight.

Callum Young of Jed-Forest was the Denzil Lloyd Player of the Tournament.
Selkirk Youth Club's captain turned out for the President's VII and scored against - Selkirk.

Sign up to our daily The Southern Reporter Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Selkirk winger Kieran Monks against the President's VII.
The President's VII come up against Kieran Monks of Selkirk.
Rory Marshall on the attack for Jed in the final against Boroughmuir.
Robbie Shirra-Gibb drives forward in the final foir Jed-Forest.
Richard Mill of Edinburgh Accies on the break against the Philiphaugh hosts.
Player of the tournament Callum Young.
Melrose, in black and yellow, take on Peebles.
A try for Melrose in the semi-final against Jed but it wasn't enough to stop the Riverside men going through.
Alasdair Cavers of Langholm tries to get to grips with Robbie Chalmers of Edinburgh Accies.
Kieran Thomson gets the ball away against Selkirk for the President's VII.
Phil Hume of Kelso looks to make a break against Boroughmuir.
Johnny Matthews on his way to scoring for Boroughmuir against Kelso.
A try in the final for Boroughmuir's Johnny Matthews against Jed-Forest.
Gregor Young of Jed against Gala.
Jed-Forest versus Melrose.
Heriot's gain a try against RGR 7s.
Hawick in scoring form against Boroughmuir.
Jed-Forest's Gregor Young.
A great offload by Heriot's against RGR 7s.
GHA manage a consolation try against Hawick.
Gala's Graham Speirs searches for a way through against Jed-Forest.
Full time in the final.
David Heard and Julia Laverty, of sponsor Heard Hamilton, present the Selkirk Cup to Boroughmuir captain Chris Laidlaw.
Bruce Colvine on the charge for Melrose against RGR 7s.
Boroughmuir proudly hoist the Selkirk Cup.
Winning skipper Chris Laidlaw of Boroughmuir with the trophy.