Primary kids were great ambassadors for Borders hockey at Peffermill

editorial image



Both A and B teams had good wins last week, with the A team winning 96-51 at Selkirk and the B team defeating Gala at home, but the Seniors lost by seven shots against Hawick Wilton.

On Friday night in the Scottish qualifiers, Andrew Hancock won 21-18 against Liam Nicholson in the under-25 singles, Thomas Newall won 21-14 in the singles, but the triple went out on an extra end.

David Hardie & Son continued their excellent sponsorship of the Invitation Triples on Saturday when the Abbotsford trio of Alan Howlieson, Graham Prentice and John Manczak defeated the Waverley trio of Neil Kimber, Tom Thorburn and Yak Condy in the final.

Ettrick Forest

The combined Selkirk/Ettrick Forest seniors team beat Galashiels seniors in a top-of-the-table clash last week, with the Selkirk outfit winning with three triples up and one drawing. The overall score was 66-47.


Earlston Bowling Club was the venue for the Borders Bowling Association team meeting with Midlothian in the weekly Andrew Hamilton Trophy match.

Midlothian started off well with a four-shot lead after five ends and extended this to 19 shots after 10 ends. However, the heat was building both on the green and from the glorious sunshine that blessed the day and at 15 ends Borders had taken over the lead by 25 shots. From there onwards they never looked back, finishing the game Borders 127 Midlothian 101.

The Borders will be hoping to maintain their good form when they meet Fife on Saturday at Strathmiglo Bowling Club.


The Senior team played Peebles last week at Hawick and recorded a good win by 58 shots to 54.

The turning point was the seven shots that Alec Wilson’s rink scored in the final end. Up until then Peebles were leading across the board.

The B team were up against a strong Gala Waverley side, who won well by 77-49.

In Division Two the A team travelled to Gala and despite a very close game the hosts emerged winners by 78-71.


Two entries from the host club contested the final of the Newcastleton American open triples bowling tournament on Sunday.

There was an entry of 14 and the winning triple, who were presented with the cup by Pat Foster, were Stuart and Val Beadle and Irvin Kerr. The beaten finalists were Alistair and Carol Elliot and Murray Adamson.


Fabulous weather greeted the first of the club’s fun days on Saturday.

Marion Archibald and Pam Gordon won out at the end of the day and the club would like to thank all the visitors for their support.

On Sunday, members played for the Dryburgh Trophy with Sandra Somerville and Susan Firth the eventual winners.

The club would like to thank Scott’s View chip shop for sponsoring the competition.


On Saturday, the Anniversary Pairs was played with Selkirk and Ettrick Forest taking part.

The winners were Alec Elder and Daniel Sandilands with Greg Sandilands and Tommy Reilly in second place.

Sunday saw the annual Souter Cup tournament take place, with Craig Lowrie and Tommy Reilly defeating Sandy Bell and Aileen Allan in the final.


Leaf Fives

Hawick United secured the Major Sprot Cup for the first time when they defeated Jed Legion by 2-0 in a thrilling final.

Winning team: D. Fry, R. Shepherd, D. Hogg, K. Strathdee, D. Strathdee, R. Didsbury, D. Emmerson.



John Scott (Plumbing & Heating) Scott Cup Stableford Qualifier: Winner, A. Finlay 21 points.

An excellent entry of 90 players were greeted with glorious conditions for Gala’s second open event of the year.

The scoring was excellent with a third of the field shooting par or better. Matt Swatton was one of three players to shoot 63, but his last nine holes just edged him home to take the trophy.

Results: 1, M. Swatton 71 (8) 63 bih; 2=, A. Fulton 86 (23) 63, G. Shiel 79 (16) 63. Scratch: S. Fairburn 66.

Wednesday stroke: 1=, S. Nightingale 73 (5) 68, B. J. Lawrie 82 (14) 68.


June Medal (Ladies): 1, J. Shirra-Gibb 86 (17) 69; 2, M. Scully 102 (28) 74. Scratch: L. Wallace 87.

K. R. Cars Competition (Ladies): 1, L. Wallace 86 (13) 73; 2, V. Hogg 99 (20) 79. Gents: 1, I. Hogg 72 (10) 62; 2, R. MacBrayne 83 (15) 68; 3, C. Creamer 79 (10) 69. Scratch: I. Ramsey 74.


Seniors June Medal: 1, I. Oliver 72 (5) 67; 2, B. Whiteley 85 (16) 69; 3, J. Humphreys 82 (13) 69 bih.

Gents’ Stableford: 1, B. Morrison 43 points; 2, M. Laidlaw 42.

Ladies’ Teviotdale Cup (No 3) Silver Division: 1, S. Lees 80 (7) 73 bih; 2, L. Moore 85 (12) 73. Bronze Division: 1, M. Towers 97 (22) 75 bih; 2, K. Sanford 101 (26) 75.

Nine-hole competition: 1, J. McLaren 15 points.

Seniors match v Peebles: The match was played on a good course, in convivial company and in excellent weather.

Congratulations to Alan Bailey and John Simpson of Minto who scored a half point in their rubber, and to the Peebles team on their impressive victory by 5.5 points.

St Boswells

Ladies’ Championship Qualifier (2): 1, J. Knox 88 (19) 69; 2, L. Runciman 94 (23) 71; 3, C. Renton 82 (11) 71.

Colin Aitchison fom Eyemouth Golf Club scored his first ever hole in one, at the second hole, during the Senior Gents’ match against St Boswells on Thursday, June 6.

St Boswells

Junior 12-hole competition: 1, A. Smith; 2, M. Klein.

G. A. White Motors Trophy: 1, R. McDonald; 2, D. Murdoch; 3, J. Mcdonald. Scratch: R. Lacon.

Open Texas Scramble: 1, Team Hunter (M. Ovens, R. Hunter, C. Riddle, J. MacDonald); 2, Team Barrie (R. Barrie, M. Jones, R. Aitchison, S. Barrie); 3, Team Marjoribanks (B. Marjoribanks, K. Watson, G. Hogg, K. Baillie)


Tuesday Stroke: 1, J. Penny 67 (3) 64; 2, J. Berry 68 (1) 67; 3, S. Grieve 84 (15) 69 (bih).

June Medal & Championship Qualifier (2): 1, G. Frater 84 (19) 65; 2, T. Broatch 77 (11) 66 bih; 3, G. Lane 88 (22) 66 bih. Scratch: S. Fairburn 66 (+1) 67.

The Woll

Sweep: 1, A. Willison nett 68; 2, N. Stevens 71.

Monthly Medal (A Class): 1, M. Willison nett 68; 2, J. Dalgleish 70. B Class: 1, J. Thomson 69; 2, P. Forsyth 71.

Seasons Cup (A Class): 1, A. Lindores nett 69; 2, S. Watson 70. B Class: 1, W. Davis 73; 2, B. Pettie 73.

Nine-hole sweep: 1, B. Graham 36 points.

Championship Qualifier: 1, J. MacKenzie nett 67; 2, J. Nelson 70; 3, K. McDougall 71.

Sweep: 1, B. Pettie nett 69; 2, J. Geoghegan 70.

Ladies’ Championship Qualifier: 1, B. Hill nett 67; 2, V. Geoghegan 74.


Earlston & District

Members sent 98 birds to the Trophy Guy Wetherby race, liberated at 0705 into a east wind.

Results: 1, 5, I. Gray 1498.87; 2, K. Heppingstall 1488.98; 3, W.Gray & Son 1473.35; 4, 6, A.Simpson 1463.01.


Nine members sent 83 pigeons to Wetherby, a distance of 130 miles.

Results: 1, G. Whitehead & Son 1483.800; 2, 5, Douglas & Spearman 1479.263; 3, 9, B. Dixon 1470.789; 4, 7, J. Douglas 1447.737; 6, 10, G. Irvine 1411.155; 8, W. Hopewell 1389.667.


Six members sent 71 pigeons to Wetherby, a distance of 122 miles.

Results: 1, 7, T. Wilson 1472.969; 2, 3, 4, 5, Mr & Mrs Simpson 1432.641; 6, 8, 9, A. Agnew & Son 1382.081; 10, A. Minto 1231.723.


Melrose Ladies

Despite a tremendous effort, guest side Melrose Ladies just fell short on their first attempt at the 10th Anniversary Islay Beach rugby tournament.

Playing in searing heat in one of Scotland’s most beautiful locations, Melrose adapted quickly to the nonstop style of this adapted game which has not been dubbed ‘Blood on the Beach’ without reason. Fast, furious, often brutal and always exhausting, this game without scrums or line-outs fully tested the depleted Melrose side, whose opposition fully utilised their larger squads.

Dogged determination saw off Aberdeen (5-2), Watsonians (4-3) and Hillhead/Jordanhill (5-2) before they fell (2-3) to Team 200, a composite side of very experienced players, in the final. Some ferocious tackling throughout the day earned Lana Skeldon the referees’ vote for player of the tournament.

Melrose: M. Maciver, L. Skeldon, I. Craigie, G. Inglis, D. Hope, E. Hackney, H. Rorrison.