Teviotdale Harriers hit the road for festive race event

Around 60 running enthusiasts from Teviotdale Harriers celebrated Christmas by taking part in a festive road-race event.

Siblings Irvine and Robbie Welsh (picture by Bill McBurnie)
Siblings Irvine and Robbie Welsh (picture by Bill McBurnie)

The Menzies Races, a run around some quiet roads in the Joogly Brig area of the town, drew a turnout of 30 juniors and a similar number of adults.

Club secretary Greg Walker said: “It was really good. In the current circumstances, it’s good to be able to put on a race, although it had to be run in waves.

“We had to limit the numbers in every race, but we managed to get everyone who wanted to run to have a race, so it was really positive.”

U15/U17 male winner, Conan Harper (picture by Bill McBurnie)

Though the Harriers do cross-country running in winter, when circumstances permit, the club also stage road events for those who preferred a flatter surface.

Organisers were impressed with the turnout for the time of year and Greg added: “I think the opportunities to race have been few and far between, so I think people are keen to take any chance to put their training into practice.”

Given the changes that were announced later, with greater Covid regulations in the new year, it might have been Teviotdale Harriers’ last chance to have a race for a while, said Greg.

A spokesman also extended best wishes to all who participated and said coach Rory Anderson was “super proud”.

Maisie Ballantine, U15/17 female winner (picture by Bill McBurnie)

The spokesman added: “It started sunny and bright for the U11/U13 boys and girls race in the morning and then turned bitterly cold and wet for the U15/U17 and senior men and women.

“A massive thank-you to the marshalls who helped out on the day.

“It is much appreciated for your support.”


U11/U13 girls (W. G. Robertson Trophy) – 1 Grace Levell, 2 Amber Smith, 3 Eila Tait.

U11/U13 boys (MGM Cup) – 1 Kerr Ferguson, 2 McLaren Welsh, 3 Joshua Harris.

U15/U17 boys (J. M. Hamilton Trophy) – 1 Conan Harper, 2 Thomas Macaskill, 3 Robbie Welsh.

Sealed handicap (Shiel Trophy) – 1 Thomas Macaskil, 2 Robbie Welsh, 3 Callum Renwick.

U15/U17/women (W. Spence Trophy) – 1 Maisie Ballantyne, 2 Iona Jamieson, 3 Kirsty Hughes.

Sealed handicap (Carruthers Trophy) – 1 Kirsty Scott, 2 Kirsty Hughes, 3 Pauline McAdam.

Senior men (Oliver Trophy) – 1 Greg Walker, 2 Colin Welsh, 3 Alistair Walker.

Sealed handicap (Menzies Trophy) – 1 Derek McHugh, 2 Alistair Walker, 3 Tim Hatton.