Fairburn takes title at Torwoodlee

Torwoodlee Championship winners along with Gents captain Sandy Stenhouse and Ladies captain Gillian Lithgow
Torwoodlee Championship winners along with Gents captain Sandy Stenhouse and Ladies captain Gillian Lithgow

After an excellent week of golf at Torwoodlee Golf Club the various Club Championship Finals took place on Saturday.

The final of the Mens A class was between first time finalist and former Scottish Boys Internationalist Simon Fairburn who had overcome multiple winner David Gillie in a close semi-final on the last green.

His opponent was 2003 winner and regular finalist Derek Gillie who had defeated Andrew Brooks at the 17th in the semi-final.

In what turned out to be one of the best quality finals in many years Derek started best with a birdie at the 3rd which was matched at the 4th by Simon. The 5th saw one of only 3 bogeys by either player with Simon taking 5 although one was a left handed jab away from the fence. Derek extended his lead to 2 with a second birdie at the 7th. However following a drive measured at 344 yards along the 8th a birdie for Simon reduced the deficit to one. With the 9th halved in pars it meant Derek leading by one hole heading into the back 9.

Another birdie 2 from Derek doubled the lead again. However birdies at 11th, 13th & 15th with the other 6 holes being halved saw a slim lead of one hole for Simon after the first 18.

A bogey at the 19th from Derek then two birdies from Simon saw the lead extended to 4 early in the second round. Holes 22 & 23 were halved but a birdie from Simon at the 24th took his advantage to 5. Holes 25-27 were halved with a birdie and two pars from each player. This left Derek with an uphill battle at the turn.

The 28th was halved in par then Simon won the 29th to leave him 6 up with 7 to play. A superb 35 foot birdie putt from Derek at 30th hole reduced the deficit to 5 with 6 to play. After the tee shots at the 31st Derek pitched to 15 feet which left Simon who had driven the ball to 10 yards short of the green with a great chance to put his second close and make Derek hole to keep the match alive. However in keeping with the way Simon had played in the second round he holed his pitch shot for an eagle and to close out the match.

This was an outstanding match with Derek being 5 under par for the holes played but Simon showed the talent everyone knows has by being 11 under par for the 31 holes played.

The B Class finalists were Colin Shanks who had accounted for the veteran Adam Polson in the semi-final against Jimmy Graham who had defeated Mark Tokely at the 18th in his semi-final. An excellent final ensued with Colin coming out on top at the 17th.

The C Class saw former Captain Iain Gibson take on Guy Frater. Iain came out on top in this match in this battle of experience over youth.

This years Ladies A Class saw multiple winner Liz Campbell take on Denise Richards. In a very tight match with very little in it throughout Liz eventually came out on top to add her name to the trophy and honours board once again.

The B Class was a straight final shootout between last years Ladies Captain Mary Christie and Scotland Women’s Rugby Internationalist Nicola Halfpenny. As with the A class an excellent match ensued with Mary coming out as the winner.

The trophies were presented in the evening by respective Captains Sandy Stenhouse and Gillian Lithgow with all competitors paying compliments to the Greens Staff for the superb condition of the course.