Cycling - Kelso Wheelers

Kelso Wheelers have taken the lead after the first two legs of the Border Trophy with a combined time of 7 hours 55 mins 48 secs.

Gala are in second on 8.06.04; Hawick are third on 8.20.50 and Berwick fourth on 8.21.31.

On the club front sunshine and a light wind greeted the 21 riders who lined up to contest the first championship race of the season over the 10 mile Birgham course last week.

The expected battle between Kenny Darling and Colin Stevenson proved well founded as both rose to the occasion. Colin, setting another pb, had to give best to Kenny who shrugged off the previous weeks’ disappointments to regain the title he last won in 2012. Defending champion Mike Burgher was third recording his best time of the season. Quality outweighed quantity as only two youths contested their championship. Oscar Onley completed a hat-trick of title wins in a new pb with Daniel Easson also posting a pb in defeat.

Senior Championship: K. Darling 22.35; C. Stevenson 22.42 pb; M. Burgher 23.20; R. Fenwick 23.30; D. Burgher 23.44; J. Smith 23.51; R. Ure 24.02; D. Richardson 24.31; G. Ford 25.09 pb; K. Wilson 25.53; R. Connell 26.38; D. Whitecross 27.44 pb; A. Ker 28.40; R. Kerr 28.59; G. Gauld 29.06 pb; I. Fenwick 29.16 pb; R. Smith 29.46; I. Aichison 30 10.

Youths Championship: O. Onley 27.09 pb; D. Easson 30.40 pb.

Ladies Championship: Audrey Power 28.00.