Bogie gets back to winning ways in Border Counties rally

editorial image

David Bogie led from start to finish to win Saturday’s Border Counties Rally and mark up his first victory in the 2015 ARR Craib MSA Scottish Rally Championship, writes Sandy Brydon.

The five-time Scottish champion from Dumfries, with Hawick’s Kevin Rae on the notes, was fastest on all of the five special stages in his Ford Fiesta R5+.

At the finish, a delighted Bogie said: “Great stages and great to get a win! I did not think we would make the finish due to a damaged CWP, but got there in the end.”

Stephen Petch (Bishop Auckland), co-driven by Jack Morton (Newcastle), took second place in a similar Ford Fiesta R5+, 40 seconds adrift, and the final podium spot was taken by Peter Taylor (Carlisle) and Andrew Roughead (Newcastle) in a Ford Focus.

Fourth overall and second in the SRC-registered category were Andrew Gallacher (Hurlford) and co-driven by Jane Nicol (Edinburgh) in their Ford Fiesta Evolution AG.

After a flawless drive, Culloden Car Sales crew Donnie Macdonald and Andrew Falconer, in their Mitsubishi EVO 9, were fifth overall which places Donnie second in the SRC driver’s championship.

Banchory driver Bruce McCombie and Michael Coutts (Torphins) finished sixth overall in their Mitsubishi EVO. Bruce now heads the SRC driver’s championship leaderboard.

Oban crew Shaun Sinclair and Chris Hamill finished seventh overall in their Mitsubishi EVO 8, just ahead of Barry Groundwater (Banchory) and Neil Shanks (Elgin), also in an EVO.

Mark McCulloch from Newton Stewart, co–driven by Michael Hendry (Archiestown), were ninth overall in a Mitsubishi EVO, while Freddie Milne from Banchory, co-driven by Martin Forest (Aberdeen), completed the top 10.

Highest-placed Borders driver was Hawick’s Ian Baumgart, co-driven by Paul Hughes. They finished 17th overall in a Subaru Impreza.

Results for other Borders crews were: Steve Bannister/Louise Rae (Escort Mk2) 21st; Garry Wilson/Scott Young (Mitsubishi Evo 5) 32nd; Des Campbell/Haree Marchbank (Peugeot 206) 39th; Brian Middlemass/Kevin Mathers (Hillman Avenger) 44th; Nigel and Atkinson (Mitsuibishi Evo 9) 54th; Ian Heard/Alistair Maxwell (Escort Mk2) 63rd and first in class; David and Scott Hunter (Peuegot 205GTi) 68th; Sean and Iain Robson (Ford Fiesta ST+) retired with mechanical problems.