Youths show the way in Birgham

Kelso Wheelers youths continue to outperform the seniors in the Birgham league.

Thomas Purves posted a fine 34 minutes and 35 seconds for a first attempt at the 10-mile course. The other four riders all had minus times. Oscar Onley and Ben Simpson are joint leaders on 36 points. Daniel Easson 32, Dwain Patterson 30, Ross Gillie 14, Fraser Veitch 10 and Thomas Purves on 8 complete the youths’ section.

In section one of the seniors class, only Dave Burgher had a minus time, recording a new pb of 22.58 for the course. Scores: Dave Burgher 38 points, Donald Richardson 36, Mike Burgher 30, Rupert Norris and Simon Gaunt 28, Jeremy Smith 20, Rob Ure 16.

Section two scores: Ian McKenzie 40, Gav Ford 34, Richard Connell 30, Graham Easson 28, Graeme Veitch 18, Gordon Dalglish 12, Kenny Wilson 10 and Paul McGreal 8.

Section three scores: David Whitecross on 38 points and Rob Smith on 34. Andrew Ker has 20, Steve Onley, Rene Coupek and Doug Small 16, Gareth Moore and Jill Sinton 8.