Yester’s day is yet to come in Section One

From left: Claire Hill, Cameron Bryce, Niel Sutherland Thomas Fleming and Leslie Ker.
From left: Claire Hill, Cameron Bryce, Niel Sutherland Thomas Fleming and Leslie Ker.
Share this article

IT’S BEEN all go for Borders curlers recently as various competitions both near and far come to a head, writes Alistair Lindsay.

Yester, in winning their final Border League game at 8-4 over Swinton, are assured of a place in the Page play-off along with Coldstream from Section One.

Greenlaw beat Jedburgh in a very tight tussle that went to a last stone decision, Lees overcame Lammermuir 7-5 in section two and Chirnside were unstoppable at 17-3 against Teviotdale – once the Blacksmith got himself properly shod.

Angus Duncan won the Open Points competition but is forbidden to take the voluptuous trophy home, while Helen Forbes and her rink won the Oak Room Bonspiel, an all-female contest, but she didn’t win the Duns invitation Bonspiel, the honours for that event went to Neil Maclain.

The Pate trophy was a moral victory for Border Province, 5-3 up in games, but as it is shots up that count, the trophy stays with Midlothian, who were a mere three shots up at the end.

In the RCCC competition at Kilmarnock a quirk of fate brought Ayton Castle into competition with Coldstream in a semi-final.

Coldstream won, but lost the final to a Lanarkshire rink.

Congratulations go to the Borders Ice Rink Junior team of Claire Hill, Cameron Bryce Niel Sutherland Thomas Fleming and Leslie Ker, who played very well at the recent SALSC (Scottish Association of Local Sports Councils) finals at Aberdeen, finishing runners-up in the under-15 class.

On a sadder note, the full house in Coldstream Parish Kirk that bid farewell to Betty Wilson was testimonial enough to a most loveable splendid lady whose kindness, generosity, and cheerfulness will never be forgotten by all who knew her.

Betty was into curling from the very early days of the Border Ice Rink and she served the sport to the great extent of being president of the ladies’ section and then, in 1983, being elected as president of the RCCC ladies’ branch.

And since, she supported the roaring game to the very end.

It was fitting that possibly the last bit of curling news she heard was that Coldstream had won the Dickinson trophy for the first time in many seasons.