Villagers take top place in Division Two in stunning fashion

Share this article

St Boswells beat Edinburgh by 7 wickets


ON A simply stunning day for Cricket, St Boswells welcomed Edinburgh to The Green for a top-of-the-table Division Two clash.

The capital men won the toss and decided to bat first.

In the second over, the dangerous Majeed drove powerfully through the covers and young Elliot Ruthven took a stunning catch high to his left.

Veteran Scott Turnbull then got in on the act, taking three quick wickets to leave the visitors teetering on 40-4.

This should have been five down when Akhtar smashed one to Ross Graham behind the stumps, but to the Villagers amazement he was given not out.

This fired up St Lucian international Cletus Mathurin, who, in a feisty spell, got revenge by bowling Akhtar with a slow ball beauty, then seeing to top-scoring K. Hussain and R. Ahmed, before trapping Ali for a duck to leave Edinburgh struggling to get more than 100, while Mathurin himself posted figures of 4-19.

Rory Elms then came back on to clear the tail up with two wickets in two balls.

Ninety-six never seemed enough on a pitch that was fast, and outfield giving good value for your shots. Mathurin started positively before his partner Elliot Ruthven was bowled for a duck by Imran.

Chinniah Prabhakar joined Mathurin and they steadily knocked Boswells towards the total. Mathurin had got his 50 and effectively won the game before he was out LBW to Farooq.

Graham went soon after, going for a big shot over the top, but Prabhakar ended with some lusty blows to finish the game and secure the 20 points to go top of the table.

Edinburgh CC

A. Majeed, c Ruthven b Elms 0

S. Hassan, c Prabhaker b Turnbull 11

K. Hussain, b Mathurin 28

A. Hussain, b Turnbull 0

U. Farooq, lbw b Turnbull 6

I. Akhtar, b Mathurin 16

A. Imran, b Elms 20

R. Ahmed, b Mathurin 2

Z. Ali, lbw b Mathurin 0

M. Irshaad, not out 7

B. Ahmed, b Elms 0

Extras 6

Total all out 96

St Boswells

C. Mathurin, lbw b Farooq 56

E. Ruthven, b Imran 0

C. Prabhaker, not out 28

R. Graham, c Majeed b Farooq 3

S, Broom, not out 6

Extras 4

Total for 3 97