VIDEO: Borders celebrate sporting excellence

SCOTTISH Borders sporting excellence was recognised on Friday night in front of a large, and very distinguished, audience at the Cardrona Hotel.

The second Border Sport and Leisure Celebration of Sport Awards, supported by GB Telecom and media partners The Southern Reporter, showcased the very best of local sport in 2013 with winners including Hawick’s very own British Superbike champion Stuart Easton, Jedburgh rugby star and current Scotland captain Greig Laidlaw and the highly successful Borders Elite Swim Team coach Alex Jordan.

Celebration of Sport Awards at Cadrona Hotel.

Celebration of Sport Awards at Cadrona Hotel.

2013 Celebration of Sport award winners

Junior Sports Personality of the Year: Emily Newlands (hockey)

Positive Coaching Scotland: Duns Rugby Club

Team of the Year (public vote): Melrose Bowling Club

Disability Sports Performance of the Year: Patrick Wilson (Boccia)

Event of the Year: Melrose Sevens

World Class Achievement of the Year: Scott Brash

Inductee to the Scottish Borders Sporting Hall of Fame: Ivan Laing (hockey)

Special Lifetime Service Award: Alastair Watson (Photography)

Service to Sport: Ian Scott-Watson (motor racing)

Club of the Year: Peebles Cycling Club

Coach of the Year (public vote): Alex Jordan (swimming)

Inspirational Performance of the Year: Greig Laidlaw (rugby)

Sports Personality of the Year (public vote): Stuart Easton (motor bike racing)

For more on this and full picture spread see this week’s Southern Reporter.