Two bridges, no worries

Prizewinners from the Kelso 2Bridges Race
Prizewinners from the Kelso 2Bridges Race
Share this article

IT WAS doubtful whether the Kelso 2 Bridges Race would get started at all, given all the severe weather warnings that had been issued by the Met Office for the weekend of September 11.

However, a hardy 43 runners from all over the east coast and Borders countryside, including Lothian and Musselburgh, stuck with it and showed a good turnout, with 15 junior runners and 30 adults running round a very blustery course.

Once again, Darrell Hastie (16 minutes and 44 seconds) took the overall male title and the fantastic wooden trophy has now gone back to its home where it has happily sat for several years now.

Second was Colin Welsh (16.57) with Wayne McIntosh (18.09) in third.

The ladies saw a new name going on to the trophy with Scout Adkin from the Moorfoot school taking the title in 19.03. Kirstie Thomson (Gala Harriers, 20.43) was second with local runner Adrienne Little (22.53) in third.

The winning adult team was Teviotdale Harriers (Colin Welsh, Wayne McIntosh, Derek Scott, Bryan Graham) with the overall veteran male and female being Bob Marshall (Gala Harriers, 19.14) and Mary Pattison (Musselburgh, 23.42) respectively. Second in the men’s race was Steve Pattison and third Ian Maxwell. In the ladies’ event, there was only two entries with Carol Mabon (Lothian RC) taking second.

A special award was presented to Ailsa McVey on her outstanding effort, showing great determination in her firs race.

Homegrown talent was very much in evidence in the junior section of the race. They ran 2km, with Josh Abbott taking the primary boys’ title in 14.27, ahead of Ross Gillie in second and Andrew Thomson in third.

First primary girl was Sarah Davenport (19.20) with Jemima Wharton in second. The junior team winners were Kelso AC members.

Toby and Oscar Rodwell helped team mates Andrew, Ross and Josh to the title.

There were only two secondary categories raced for. The under-16 boys’ winner was Gordon Armstrong (13.55) followed by Euan Pettigrew and then John Archibald – all Kelso lads.

In the S1/2 girls’ race, Linsey Young managed to move up from her primary winners’ category successfully by taking the win in 15.53 (pb), with fellow badminton player Ciara Donlevy from Lauder finishing second and Lauren Falkener third.

Linsey also helped the three Kelso High School boys lift the team title.

Thanks went to Blair’s the Jewellers of Kelso for providing the medals, as well as Kelso Crawlers, the cricket club, Kelso police and all the local marshals – which also included the expert help from the Border Search and Rescue unit (for which race organisers managed to raise £16 for in a collection at the end of the event).